A Tad Disappointed With Downtown Vapoury...

Discussion in 'Downtown Vapoury' started by ace_d_house_cat, 5/9/19.

Tags:
  1. ace_d_house_cat

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    ace_d_house_cat Dedicated Vaper

    Threads:
    54
    Posts:
    745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    25/8/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +1,159
    Hey guys,

    I must make known my dissatisfaction with Downtown Vapoury, below is the story as to why;

    On Friday DV had advertised a few specials, and (having supported them a few times before) never had an issue with their service so I decided to purchase an item from them (VV Pulse 80w mod). The below screenshot was taken about an hour after I'd made my purchase.
    [​IMG]

    Excited about my new mod (that should be in the post) I attended VapeCon on Saturday, purchasing a new RDA as well as batteries (20700 - none of my other mods use this size BTW) and accessories for it.

    At midday on Sunday, whilst attending a family function I get a call from DV stating that "someone uploaded the incorrect product and they cannot fulfil the order". After trying to figure out an alternative (to no avail) and a few phone calls later we'd mutually decided that I'd be refunded (albeit I was left a bit disappointed in the way things turned out).

    I'd been checking my bank statements daily and the refund had not been processed. I finally called DV yesterday and was met with a "we're very busy and the owner is not in", etc. and "we'll let you know shortly".

    I've ordered quite a bit from quite a few vendors before, never before did I have to bear the consequences of the vendor's mistake (not honouring their sale and the fact that I've bought additional hardware that's rendered pointless) and had such a poor experience.

    It's now Thursday and there's still no sign of a refund. What am I to do?
     
    • Informative Informative x 8
    • List
    Last edited: 6/9/19
  2. KarlDP

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    KarlDP Experienced Vaper ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    9
    Posts:
    454
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    23/1/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +1,851
    Also ordered online from @Downtown Vapoury before without any issues. Hope they can sort you out quick as the refund should've been done long time ago.

    I must say that it happened to me twice now in the past month or two where i ordered from online stores, only to be phoned to say there was a mistake on their website and the item is no longer in stock that i ordered and payed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  3. Jengz

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    Jengz Hier Kom a ding!

    Threads:
    87
    Posts:
    1,943
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    23/9/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Jhb
    Ratings:
    +5,837
    I had almost the exact issue with them, was promised a discount code but to date I have not received one. I never posted about it as I was over it but actually should have done so for the benefit of the community
     
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Can relate Can relate x 1
    • List
  4. Silver

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 35 votes

    Silver Flavour and throat hit seeker Staff Member Administrator ECIGSSA Donor VIP

    Threads:
    704
    Posts:
    40,549
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/11/13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Joburg
    Ratings:
    +75,569
  5. ace_d_house_cat

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    ace_d_house_cat Dedicated Vaper

    Threads:
    54
    Posts:
    745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    25/8/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +1,159
    Update;
    I've been informed (via SMS) that the refund has been processed; I've requested proof of payment (for record purposes). DV mentioned that they'll send it through shortly.

    Almost 24 hours later, still no payment or proof of.
     
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • List
  6. Downtown Vapoury

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    Downtown Vapoury Experienced Vaper Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    255
    Posts:
    340
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/7/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Durban
    Ratings:
    +154
    Good day
    Trust that you are well.

    Sorry about your experience bud.I do apologise.

    Your payment was processed yesterday and should clear by today hopefully, considering you are with an alternate bank.I would appreciate if you emailed me directly at our email addresses as this would've made this process much easier.Whatsapp is not a good option.Send me your email address and i will get accounts to send you your Proof of payment.

    We have moved over to Shopify in the past month and have been implementing stock integration which is not an easy task and we do have humans working for us.Out of the thousands of products our staff have worked tirelessly to populate ,they have erred in adding a device incorrectly and a device which is out of stock.I do apologise for that.

    Should you wish to contact me directly you can call on 082 893 0729 or email info@downtownvapoury.co.za or info@vapepulse.co.za.
    @ace_d_house_cat
    @Silver

    If there is anything else i can do let me know .

    Thanks
    Ridwaan
    DTV
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Dislike Dislike x 2
    • List
  7. Downtown Vapoury

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    Downtown Vapoury Experienced Vaper Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    255
    Posts:
    340
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/7/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Durban
    Ratings:
    +154
    Hi Karl

    What issue did you have and what discount code are you talking about?

    Please forward me correspondence to that effect and we will see what we can do.Sorry for any inconvenience if any was caused.

    Thanks
    Ridwaan
     
  8. Silver

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 35 votes

    Silver Flavour and throat hit seeker Staff Member Administrator ECIGSSA Donor VIP

    Threads:
    704
    Posts:
    40,549
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/11/13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Joburg
    Ratings:
    +75,569
    Thanks Ridwaan @Downtown Vapoury
    Appreciate that you responded so everyone can be in the loop.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  9. ace_d_house_cat

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    ace_d_house_cat Dedicated Vaper

    Threads:
    54
    Posts:
    745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    25/8/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +1,159
    Hi Ridwaan,

    The first point of communication was a phone call from one of your employees. That was my point of contact, I could not simply demand that I make contact wit the owner.

    I will note (publicly) that due the setback that this has caused (purchasing hardware for nothing), the timing, and (mostly) the way the situation the was handled from DV and it's employees I (am sad to say it but) won't be supporting your establishment any longer.

    I have DM'd you my email address, please forward me proof of payment as soon as you can.

    Cheers.
     
  10. KarlDP

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    KarlDP Experienced Vaper ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    9
    Posts:
    454
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    23/1/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +1,851
    It was not me having the issue. It was @Jengz
     
  11. Downtown Vapoury

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    Downtown Vapoury Experienced Vaper Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    255
    Posts:
    340
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/7/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Durban
    Ratings:
    +154
    Proof of payment sent.

    Many Thanks
    Ridwaan
     
  12. Downtown Vapoury

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    Downtown Vapoury Experienced Vaper Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    255
    Posts:
    340
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/7/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Durban
    Ratings:
    +154
    There is nothing wrong with making contact with the owner bro even if you demanded because you were unhappy its totally understandable.That why we are there to resolve and fix problems.I really don't mind people contacting me directly with problems so i can intervene and resolve.Staff are not always looking at things from our perspective they would sometimes just pass a message on as a messenger and say my job is done i passed a message on and the problem will sit with management who are in the dark as to whats going on.However i do appreciate you bringing this to my attention and we are working on it.

    Many Thanks
    Ridwaan
     
  13. Hooked

    Excellent Member

    4.28571/5, 7 votes

    Hooked Got a lot to learn... ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    448
    Posts:
    8,942
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    10/9/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Yzerfontein
    Ratings:
    +20,762
    I would just like to say that I've bought twice from @Downtown Vapoury and they've been a pleasure to deal with.
     
  14. Mo_MZ

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Mo_MZ Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    6
    Posts:
    163
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    31/7/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +257
    Had good experience dealing with Ridwaan @Downtown Vapoury when I was stuck for juice on a trip to kzn some time back.. Will always make a stop at his shop (that branch he is at) when I'm down that part of the world..