Blotto RTA Review

Discussion in 'RTA Reviews - Tanks' started by Brett Vapes, 22/3/20.

Tags:

What review would you like to see next?

Poll closed 28/3/20.
  1. Juice

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. RTA

    66.7%
  3. RDA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Mod

    33.3%
  1. Brett Vapes

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Brett Vapes New Vaper

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    23
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    6/3/20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weirda Park centurion
    Ratings:
    +51
    Hi Eciggsa fam. I'm back with another review. with my previous review, I had a poll up asking you guys what you would like to see me review next and it was unanimous. You guys wanted to see me review an RTA. So I decided to review the Blotto RTA. Please note that all my reviews are of personal opinion and I write these reviews originally for my YouTube Channel. If you'd like to watch my reviews my channel link is over here -> https://www.ecigssa.co.za/brett-vapes-reviews.t65726/

    Todays review is sponsored by me because that’s right, I bought this... This RTA was a huge hit towards the end of 2019 and I jumped right on board with all of you. I’ll be reviewing the Blotto RTA made by Dovpo and designed by Vaping Bogan. For those of you who don’t know who Vaping Bogan is… He is some big hotshot Australian Vape Reviewer on YouTube…aha but jokes aside he has won multiple awards for his channel.
    So here we have the Blotto RTA. I got myself the Gun Metal colour because it looks really nice on my Noisy Cricket V2 and on my Vaporesso Gen but if you don’t like this colour it also comes in: Black, Silver, Rainbow, Purple, Green and then Pink Splatter which I wish I knew about because it looks really cool.[​IMG]

    The features of this tank are: it has dripper-like flavour, you can run dual or single coil in it whichever you prefer, it has 242 degree airflow that goes directly onto the coils (wow that’s a very precise number…), they say the straight glass is 2ml and the bubble glass is 6ml, dual diffusion airflow for a smooth draw, glass and ultem bubble windows plus flat glass so that means you get 2 spare glasses… that’s awesome I wish all the suppliers did this, it’s easy to fill and has a bottle opener included which as a side note can also be used as a coil trimming tool.

    What do we get in the box Brett? Well let’s have a look. We get 1 blotto RTA, 1 Glass Bubble tube, 1 Ultem bubble tube, 1 accessory bag, 1 user manual and 1 bottle opener. Let’s get up close and personal with this guy and see how it works.[​IMG]

    Here we have the Blotto. upload_2020-3-22_19-44-28.png
    If we unscrew the top cap here we see the filing holes. Nice large holes on both sides. upload_2020-3-22_19-45-31.png
    If you are still using those old glass bottles with the droppers then that should easily fit into these holes. So definitely easy to fill up the tank. Now we just plop the top cap back on and its half a turn to tighten and loosen. Then we unscrew the base here and there she is. The Build deck. upload_2020-3-22_19-47-13.png
    This is such a unique build deck for an RTA because you generally don’t want the airflow to go over the coils like this because it limits you to what coil size you can put in here and it also creates a lot of heat but this actually works so beautifully. If you are going single coil you are going to cut the legs slightly longer and put both legs on the one side because the posts do like a criss-cross, so you have got your positive and negative here, and then your negative and positive over here. Dual coil is the same as your single coil except you have 2 coils instead of 1 coil and the legs are cut slightly shorter. Let’s set up the coils now. The coils I’m using are White Collar Fused Claptons upload_2020-3-22_19-52-31.png
    and they estimate at 0.5 ohm for a single coil and 0.25 for dual coil. Ill be running the dual coil setup in here. So Step 1 we grab the bottle opener that we get with the RTA and you see this rectangle at the top here? upload_2020-3-22_19-53-37.png
    Most people would think this is the place for your keyring, you aren’t wrong, but you aren’t right either. This is in fact the part you use for coil trimming. So what you do is you take your coil. You insert the one leg through the hole like this and then your coil sits nicely inside the rectangle. upload_2020-3-22_19-55-7.png
    Then you take your wire cutter and cut along the top. upload_2020-3-22_19-56-28.png
    And there we go, the perfect length for the Blotto. upload_2020-3-22_19-57-32.png
    I thought this was genius when I finally saw this. Okay Step 2, we stick the legs into the posts, upload_2020-3-22_19-59-5.png
    we fire it up to check for any hot spots. Always check your coils for hotspots unless you are running mesh. If you don’t, you have a high chance of getting dry hits within your first tank. So ALWAYS check for hotspots. If you have any hotspots, just brush it out with your ceramic tweezers. Once that’s sorted let it cool down then you are ready for the next step. upload_2020-3-22_20-3-51.png
    Step 3, Once your coils have cooled down you are ready to wick it. I must say. Wicking the Blotto RTA is one of the easiest tanks you will ever wick. Let me show you. First, we need to get the right width of cotton all depending on the inner diameter of your coil. upload_2020-3-22_20-5-5.png
    For the blotto if you are running dual coil I highly advise against using more than 3 mm inner-diameter coils because if you go bigger you will have a very hot vape and might risk melting some very important parts in the tank. Once you have the piece of cotton, we just roll it up, insert the one end into the coil, pull it through, then I prefer to just take the same end and then bring it round and pull it through the other coil and then cut it but some people cut it first. It doesn’t matter. You do you. I just prefer to do it this way. upload_2020-3-22_20-7-26.png upload_2020-3-22_20-8-53.png
    So once you have both coils with cotton in it we then go to the one side, push the cotton down and then we trim it along the base O-ring. upload_2020-3-22_20-9-39.png
    And then repeat on the other side. Once you have done that, you then thin out the cotton from about half-way from the end of the cotton and the coil out towards the end. upload_2020-3-22_20-11-1.png
    Once you’ve done that and you’ve trimmed out the excess strands, upload_2020-3-22_20-12-27.png
    you take the cotton and just stuff it into the juice holes. Make sure that it goes down like with the Zeus dual otherwise when you get towards an empty tank, your cotton will get dry even though you still have a little bit of juice left. upload_2020-3-22_20-13-26.png
    Also make sure that the juice holes are completely filled up with cotton and that there are no gaps. If there are gaps just shift the cotton around a bit. If that still doesn’t work, then you wicked it too thin and you need to rewick it slightly thicker. Always remember an indicator to having the right thickness for your coil is the cotton has to fit in snug. Not too tight to the point where if you pull the cotton, your coil goes with it and not too loose to the point where its too easy to pull the cotton through the coil. It needs to be snug. And there we go. You have wicked your Blotto RTA. upload_2020-3-22_20-16-24.png
    Let’s prime it now. upload_2020-3-22_20-17-22.png
    And there we go. All set up.

    Alright we’ve wicked the tank, I’ve filled her up, now all that’s left to do is vape. upload_2020-3-22_20-19-15.png
    Wow okay so flavour, on point, clouds, who needs weather when we have the Blotto? And its such a smooth pull. Slightly restricted but theres nothing wrong with that because you just get so much flavour from this tank. Let’s have a look at my pros and cons for the Blotto RTA.

    Pros: very easy to build and wick on, very easy to fill the tank, it has a very smooth pull, It’s a great design inside and out, you get two spare bubble glasses and one of them is ultem, you get a bottle opener which doubles up as a coil trimming tool, and a unique airflow design.

    Cons: its not mesh (Bogan I really think you need to look into designing a mesh RTA dude), the bottom airflow which I don’t really find as a con, if you wick her right, she wont leak but I know that a lot of people prefer top airflow to bottom airflow, and the post design where the positive and negative is crossed so if you want to run single coil, you have to cut the legs a little bit longer so that you can adjust your coil to the middle instead of having the one leg on the one side and the other leg on the other side which immediately places the coil in the middle. Just a little con I found when I tried out single coil on the tank.

    There we have it ladies and gents. The Blotto RTA. Let me know what your guys thoughts are on this tank down in the comments below.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  2. Grand Guru

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Grand Guru The Vape Guru ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    27
    Posts:
    1,626
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    25/9/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bloemfontein
    Ratings:
    +7,226
    Great review @Brett Vapes. I like the detailed steps of coiling and wicking. It is very valuable for noobies. But man how can you say the draw on the Blotto is restricted :eek::eek::eek: what do you usually vape on sir?:roto2lol:
     
  3. Brett Vapes

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Brett Vapes New Vaper

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    23
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    6/3/20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Weirda Park centurion
    Ratings:
    +51
    Thanks so much for the feedback. i try my best to help everyone out. I've vaped on alot of things.... but my current daily is my Profile unity and Profile rda
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List