Geekvape : ZEUS X MESH - Review

Discussion in 'RTA Reviews - Tanks' started by StompieZA, 21/4/20.

  1. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    cats.jpg
    Hi guys,

    Been a while since i have posted some reviews but with the lockdown and working from home time is limited and i was supposed to post this review on the 14th already but just didnt get to it.

    Geekvape has sent me their latest Zeus X Mesh RTA for review and being my first mesh rta ever, i must say its been quite a nice experience.

    Lets get right to it and take a look at the packaging. This is a sample unit, i still dont see any advertisement on their website yet.

    IMG_20200323_121240.jpg IMG_20200323_121309.jpg IMG_20200323_121410.jpg


    Product introduction
    Geekvape Zeus X Mesh RTA is a new version of Zeus X RTA, it features the modular build deck with mesh coil building and it comes with a perfect leak proof top-to-side airflow design for the best flavor. Additionally, The mesh build deck is compatible with Zeus X RTA.

    Parameters:
    Size: 25x 47.8mm
    E-juice Capacity: 4.5ml
    Drip tip: 510 or 810 drip tip
    Build deck: Modular build deck
    Airflow: Adjustable top airflow
    Coil building: Mesh coil building

    Features:
    -4.5ml large e-juice capacity
    -Modular build deck with mesh coil
    -Supports both 510 and 810 drip tip
    -The deck is compatible with Zeus X RTA
    -Adjustable leakproof top-to-side airflow design

    Package includes:
    1x Zeus X Mesh RTA
    1x N80 mesh 0.17ohm coil
    1x KA1 mesh 0.2ohm coil
    1x Spare glass tube
    1x Spare drip tip
    1x Accessory bag

    With the technical specs out of the way, lets see some pictures of this bad boy as well as building and wicking the deck. This tank is very easy to build even for my first mesh RTA. With the little tool included, it is super easy to round the mesh strip and clamp it to the deck.

    Aesthetics

    The X Mesh Rta looks very similar when compared to the X RTA but now sporting some slight design changes on the top cap and the base making it look a litter meaner i think. The complete top of the tank is still exactly the same and works exactly the same in terms of airflow, filling and also fits on the Zeus X Rta base meaning its exactly the same apart from the slight design changes. I absolutely love my Zeus X rta and this Mesh is just as good, if not better.
    IMG_20200323_121433.jpg IMG_20200323_121439.jpg IMG_20200323_121454.jpg IMG_20200323_121513.jpg IMG_20200323_121521.jpg

    Here the base can be seen with the clamp style deck on each side. They are however not spring loaded which i think would have worked a little better just to keep the posts open when trying to insert the mesh strips. While using the tank i have found that the threads are a bit notchy when putting the top tank onto the base and im not sure if this is because its a sample and perhaps this will be resolved or this might just be how it is.

    IMG_20200323_121530.jpg

    As with all geekvape products, they include a bunch of spares and extras like different drip tips, extra orings, extra glass, two sets of mesh coils (although im not sure of the released version will include two strips of each mesh as per the sample). In the Sample i have received 2 X NI80 and 2 X KA1 strips with cotton to rewick the tank twice per coil.

    IMG_20200323_121610.jpg IMG_20200323_121620.jpg IMG_20200323_121637.jpg IMG_20200323_121824.jpg

    Comparison of the Zeus X RTA (left) to the new Zeus X Mesh (Right) and shows subtle changes to the design.

    IMG_20200323_122104.jpg IMG_20200323_122117.jpg IMG_20200323_122201.jpg
    Wicking the Deck

    This is my very first MESH RTA ever so obviously i was quite excited to test it out and wick it to see whats the difference as i absolutely love the pods or atty's that use mesh coils because the flavor is always out of this world and just so much better IMO.

    Im not going to explain to much as the pictures are pretty much self explanatory here and it is super easy to wick this tank. I got it right on my very first attempt.

    IMG_20200323_122236.jpg

    Using the nifty tool, you can perfectly round the mesh sheet so that it fits perfectly.

    IMG_20200323_122751.jpg IMG_20200323_122821.jpg IMG_20200323_122940.jpg IMG_20200323_122947.jpg IMG_20200323_122957.jpg IMG_20200323_123045.jpg IMG_20200323_123046.jpg
    IMG_20200323_123209.jpg

    To be continued on 2nd post (Forum is only allowing me 30 pictures per post for some reason)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  2. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Continued Part 2

    I used the shoelace cotton that was supplied with the tank and it was quite thick, almost went in too tight but i managed to get it in.

    IMG_20200323_123216.jpg

    As with most RTA's, the wicking is usually trimmed to the length of the base, so i thought id try this as my first wicking strategy.

    IMG_20200323_123507.jpg

    The lenght was perfect but it was way to much cotton to go into the juice wells, so i fluffed the cotton alot and then stuffed them into the wells without sitting too tightly.

    after my first tank, i did get some dry hits so i trimmed the ends and thinned them even more and since then i havent had any dry hits again.

    IMG_20200323_123914.jpg IMG_20200323_123920.jpg


    And there you have a freshly wicked Mesh RTA ready for vaping looking all fancy and mean in a way!

    IMG_20200323_124312.jpg

    Overall feedback

    Being my first Mesh RTA, i have really enjoyed the experience and have been using this RTA for the past 3 weeks now and cannot complain much. It is really super easy to wick once you get the hang of the thickness of the wick that needs to go into the juice wells. Not only does it still look just as great as all its previous versions, it works just as great and if you love the X RTA, you will surely love the Mesh X Rta. Although i have heard and read that some vapers dont like the taste or hit that mesh rta's provide, i really cannot tell the difference between my X and X Mesh RTA's in terms of hit. Flavor if way better for me on the Mesh but this will also depend on the coils used in the X Rta. The Mesh heats up super fast which i just love and battery life seems to last longer.

    Pro's

    • Super flavorful! Actually makes some of my juices too sweet!
    • Not too heavy on juice consumption
    • Great amount of extras included especially coils
    • Smooth draw while vaping
    • Good and free DL vaping airflow
    • Easy to build deck
    • Looks great aesthetically
    • Mesh heats up super fast!
    • Easy to clean mesh coils and wick
    Con's
    • Slightly loud or noisy airflow/draw
    • Sticky threads when putting the tank back onto the base, its tricky (well mine is)
    • Should have spring loaded clamps in my opinion

    Verdict

    Even though it seems that Mesh RTA's have died down a little from other manufacturers, This surely seems to be a winner for me but cannot compare it against other Mesh RTAs as its my first. It does use slightly more cotton to wick than a normal dual coil RTA but not by much. The tank does not leak at all which i just love about top airflow tanks in the zeus range because all of my bottom airflow RTA's leak at some point during use. This is a quality tank but i hope they sort out the sticky thread because its a mission to get the top back on and aligned. If you like Mesh coils and tanks, then this will be an rta that wont dissapoint in my opinion.

    Score out of 10:
    7.5 out 10 due to cons as this is a sample and the thread issue might be just on my tank
     

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Like Like x 5
    • List
    Last edited: 21/4/20
  3. X-Calibre786

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    X-Calibre786 Experienced Vaper ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    26
    Posts:
    358
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    1/11/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Ratings:
    +1,143
    Something tells me there's a mesh RTA in my future!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  4. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    Cool man,Lekka review!
    I think you got a slightly different version than the one I saw in another review. But if it works, it works. You can check how the threads fit on the zues X to see if it is the machining of the mesh threads.(basically what I'm saying ,if you get the same results on the normal X then it is)and might just work itself in.
     
  5. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Thanks man, Ja im not sure if there are different versions as samples or how. Saw reviews people saying they suffer with flooding issues and leaking but i dont?

    Could be that the threads still need to work in like you say, need to check it on my Zeus X rta and see if its the same.

    This is really a good tank, the mesh is also so quick and easy to dry burn clean.
     
  6. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    Let us know when you check the threads and if it's the same issue we might just have a plan for that.
     
  7. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Checked it quick and the X RTA base screws onto the Mesh base without issue and smooth and so does the Mesh top onto the X base. But as soon as i put the mesh top onto the mesh base, its notchy and almost tends to want to go on skew but once pushed on enough it seems it screws on
     
  8. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    Ok check the threads. Where the thread starts is your issue. Either take an extra fine grade sand paper like 600gritt. And rub it over the start of the threads or use fine gritt steel wool. It would be hard to check for damage due to the fine thread pitch. Maybe the threads just need to be cleaned from fine burrs. You will know if you run a piece of cotton over the threads and it sticks to it.
     
  9. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Okay cool, will check it when i rewick so that i can clean the tank and threads and check
     
  10. Yuvir Punwasi

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Yuvir Punwasi Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    5
    Posts:
    312
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/5/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Durban
    Ratings:
    +1,443
    Brilliant review there @StompieZA :campeon:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  11. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Thanks bud!

    Was told this morning by Geekvape that i was only supposed to post it on the 1st of May but they previously told me that only after 13 april. Guess its too late now. lol
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  12. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    The issue is there's already reviews out so holding it back doesn't really matter in my opinion. I'm just happy the tank is a winner.
     
  13. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Yeah thats what i dont understand. Manufacturers give reviewers different posting dates, i have seen this between myself and @Timwis
     
  14. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    Might be to spark new interests, not everyone is interested in the same thing at the same time at any given moment.
    Or maybe for marketing to different countries. Who knows?
     
  15. PartyDave

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    PartyDave Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    111
    Country:
    Namibia
    Joined:
    19/1/20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Namibia
    Ratings:
    +204
    My mesh deck fits perfectly on the normal Zeus X. Pre-production mesh on production X
     
  16. PartyDave

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    PartyDave Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    111
    Country:
    Namibia
    Joined:
    19/1/20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Namibia
    Ratings:
    +204
    I was told 25 April, Chinese are funny people. My review was already ranked, so no point in removing it.

    Nice review BTW!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  17. Timwis

    Excellent Member

    4.5/5, 2 votes

    Timwis Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    579
    Posts:
    2,868
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    30/7/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +6,529
    Yes i was going to post a couple of weeks ago but @PartyDave said he had his bottom smacked lol, so i checked and i was told not to post until May!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  18. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Seems as i use it it gets better. I cleaned the tank and rewicked this morning and it seems better.
     
  19. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    Yeah its confusing as everyone gets a different date and i am sure the Covid19 has caused delays but its posted now so it will stay on lol
     
  20. Timwis

    Excellent Member

    4.5/5, 2 votes

    Timwis Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    579
    Posts:
    2,868
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    30/7/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bolton
    Ratings:
    +6,529
    It's their fault anyway do they expect people to be clairvoyants!
     
  21. Resistance

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Resistance Vaping Master

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    7,539
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/12/17
    Location:
    Cape
    Ratings:
    +24,071
    Then it's probably just micro burrs working away as you use it.
    Next time you rewick try the steel wool on the threads. Just a light rub should make a lot of difference.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  22. CJB85

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    CJB85 Elite Vaper ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    61
    Posts:
    1,029
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/3/19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Ratings:
    +2,906
    Nice review @StompieZA ... is this simply a good tank, or is this a must have in any collection?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  23. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 4 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    107
    Posts:
    2,082
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,752
    I would say this is a must have, have been using only the mesh since i received it.

    Super easy to wick, super awesome flavour and just all round a good tank
     
  24. PartyDave

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    PartyDave Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    111
    Country:
    Namibia
    Joined:
    19/1/20
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Namibia
    Ratings:
    +204
    If you like mesh, it's a must have
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List