MOTIvape Pod Review

Discussion in 'Pod System Reviews' started by StompieZA, 6/8/19.

  1. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    99
    Posts:
    1,919
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,217
    moti-800x533-17.jpg

    Moti Vape contacted me after seeing my reviews on the forum as well as on my Instagram profile and asked me to review their device for them. They are not on the forum as far as i know and there are no suppliers of their devices in SA yet but thought it would be nice to review their product for them in anycase so here goes.


    Item Name :
    MOTI Starter Kit – Pod device
    Manufacturer: MOTIVape
    Website: https: https://motivape.com
    Cost: R410 (Converted from US to Rand)
    NicSalt used: All Day Vapes Choc Mint Shake 50/50pgvg In refillable pods
    Strength : 12mg

    ***DISCLAIMER*** This device was supplied to me by MOTIvape for the purpose of reviewing the product for them and providing my personal feedback and opinion of this device. I’m not being paid for this review and this review is my own opinion and views.

    So first up are the unboxing pictures

    IMG_20190729_172834.jpg

    IMG_20190729_172844.jpg

    Back of the packaging is nice and detailed with contents, warnings etc

    IMG_20190729_172903.jpg

    IMG_20190729_172921.jpg

    Pod Connection pins and magnets

    IMG_20190729_172937.jpg

    Charger port

    IMG_20190729_172952.jpg

    The tobacco pod, Pods all include little caps that allows the user to seal them when not being used which is clever

    IMG_20190729_173019.jpg

    Slight pod leakage from a new pod (Only had this issue on the tobacco pod, the other pods had no leakage)

    IMG_20190729_173043.jpg

    Very nicely put together and detailed manual.

    IMG_20190729_173258.jpg

    All the different flavor pods

    IMG_20190729_173518.jpg

    Refillable Pod - Very similar design to the Vladdin RE Pods

    IMG_20190802_164451.jpg

    IMG_20190802_164525.jpg

    IMG_20190802_164534.jpg

    Here you can see the bottom white part of the coil going from a white to a almost invisible white as the liquid wicks.

    IMG_20190802_164558.jpg


    What’s inside the box you ask?

    1x MOTI Device
    1x Refillable Pod
    1x Usb Charging Cable
    1x Quick Guide manual


    Technical specifications are also important, so here they are:

    Device
    • Dimensions: 115mm x 20mm x 10mm
    • Weight: 18 grams
    • Battery: 500mAh
    • Max Power: 12Watt
    • Output Voltage: 3.5V
    • Charging Current: 0.2-0.4A

    Pod
    • Puffs per juice tank: Up to 650-800
    • Capacity: 1.8mL Juice
    • Resistance Range: 1.2Ω - 1.5Ω
    • Coil Type : 6th-generation honeycomb ceramic core
    • Pods: Pre-filled for MOTI closed system & Refillable pods

    So, what do I think about this device? Good question!

    The device comes neatly packaged in a very small and thin box with some detailed technical specifications on the back. Inside the box the device, pod, USB cable and manual are all neatly packaged.

    The supplied manual is easy to follow and very detailed which is not seen too often. The kit that was supplied to me is the refillable kit that comes with one empty refillable pod. MOTI sells two kits, one with prefilled pods or refillable pods which is a great option.

    The device is sort of pre-charged from the box as I just inserted a pod and was vaping in less than a minute after opening. There is no setup required, it’s as simple as inserting the prefilled pod and vaping or filling the refillable pod, waiting till its primed and you are good to go.

    Looks

    I like the looks; the button less sleek design is great. I personally like the way the pods are designed with the clear plastic visible out the top with visible liquid inside of the pod. The device feels and looks elegant and expensive. It’s not big device and is easy to hold and carry around or store in your pocket while not being used.

    Deconstruction

    Minimal parts are used to construct the MOTI device which to me makes it far less prone to parts failure.

    upload_2019-8-6_8-10-37.png


    Colors

    The MOTI device comes in a whole range for different and great colors to select from:
    upload_2019-8-6_8-10-50.png


    Pods?

    The pods as mentioned previously are either prefilled or refillable which I think it great as this gives vapers the option to just pop in a prefilled flavour and vape or giving the choosier vaper the option to fill pods with their own preferred brand of juice.

    The pods use a 6th-generation honeycomb ceramic core and as you all know, ceramic coils offer great flavour. I have tested several different flavour pods which I will break down below and had a good experiencing with all expect the mung bean….i don’t like this at all! Taste like grass to me, but maybe that’s how mung bean should taste and certain people like this profile.

    Overall the flavour on the pods are great and is up there in terms of flavour when compared to other devices like the Twisp Cue, Vladdin RE etc

    Prefilled Pod Flavors – Quick flavour review

    upload_2019-8-6_8-12-1.png


    Tobacco
    My personal favorite here, a very nice but strong tobacco that gives a nice throat hit which is what you want.

    Menthol
    The menthol is nice and minty but not too much ice and tastes like spear mint or menthol smokes without the tobacco taste, Also another favorite.

    Mung Bean
    I don’t like this flavour at all, taste like grass and soil but I assume that there are people that like this flavour otherwise they wouldn’t have made it.

    Mango Ice
    Reminds me a lot of Nasty cushman’s mango but with extreme ICE, I battle to take more than 3 drags because it cools your throat so much, it feels like im getting brain freeze

    Lemon Tea
    A nice Lemon Ice that is sweet and reminds me of the Lipton iced tea. The ice isn’t too hectic and is quite a refreshing flavour leaving your lips feeling cold and icy.

    Watermelon Ice
    The watermelon here is a realistic fresh watermelon that’s not overly sweet and also just the right amount of ice and tastes great.

    Refillable Pod Flavor and usage

    The refillable pods are very similar to the vladdin RE using the same type of rubber seal and look. The mouthpiece pulls off from the pod and then the rubber grommet needs to be removed to fill the pod. There are two holes which is great as it helps air escape when filling without spilling. I waited around 1 min and the pod was ready to vape as you can see how the wick starts getting saturated with the liquid. I used my Choc Mint 12mg Nic salt which I test on all my pods and the flavour is great.

    How’s the Vape?

    Smooth and restrictive draw that is activated without having to push a button. The overall device and usage are real simple and nice without any issues. The pods are rated at 5% nic level and give a nice subtle throat hit that’s not overwhelming but also not too little to leave you feeling like you didn’t vape, this MOTI will give you that kick you need to satisfy any nic craving.

    Battery

    It’s a small device with a nicely sized battery at 500mAh which offers around a full day of casual vaping. The device charges fully in around an hour which is also great and lasts reasonably well for the person that just quit smoking and is using this device to replace smokes. Charging the device will illuminate the O in the MOTI logo and will turn off once fully charged.

    Let’s get down to the nitty gritty! The want to hears and the not’s!

    My Pro's
    • Great battery life
    • Excellent flavour from the prefilled pods as well as the refillable pods
    • Nice looking design
    • Draw activated with illuminating LED when drawn
    • Easy refilling on the refillable pods
    • Prefilled and Refillable pods available
    • Tight MTL draw, not loose at all which I love
    • Simple and easy to use out of the box

    My Cons's
    • Pods fit loosely and not snug so there is slight movement
    • Slight pod leakage, A brand new pod I opened had already leaked while sealed.
    • Certain Prefilled flavours are extreme ICE….like super cold! A little too much, I think.

    My Verdict???
    I like the MOTI device not only for its looks and the battery size but for the flavourful pods. The ability to buy a range of prefilled pods with flavours to please everyone is great but the option of refillable pods is even better.

    Would I buy one or recommend one? If they become available in SA, I would recommend this device to any smoker that wants to quit, its great with a variety of flavours that taste great, are easy to use and last long.

    Hope you guys enjoyed reading my detailed review of the Moti Vape pod device, Leave a comment or a like if you want and lets have a chat!

    Cheers
    Stompie
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  2. Chanelr

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 10 votes

    Chanelr Vape Reviewer

    Threads:
    2
    Posts:
    1,627
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    4/7/18
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +8,996
    Great review.
    Love all the pictures and detailed descriptions.
     
  3. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    99
    Posts:
    1,919
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,217
    Thanks @Chanelr appreciate the feedback :)
     
  4. Safz_b

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Safz_b Clouds, Clouds, Clouds of Flavour!!!

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    240
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/2/19
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +577
    Awesome @StompieZA
    I like the look of these pods same as twisp cue, vladdin re
    Are these pod devices only compatible with nic salts?
    Im thinking of getting myself a lil pod device but I want something that I can vape basic 3mg juice with
    I dont wanna start vaping nic salts
     
  5. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    99
    Posts:
    1,919
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,217
    Most of the new pod systems can use both freebase nic which you find in normal vape juice and is also made for Nic Salt.

    The coils used in these pods are designed for high nic so at 3mg you probably wont feel it or even get a throat hit, i dont even get a throat hit at 12mg nic salt but with these pods that are included i think is around 20mg cause its nice and strong.

    The vaporesso Zero, Vaporesso Aurora Play, Voopoo Find S trio, Drag Baby ect can all use 50/50, 60/40 and 70/30 nic salt or freebase juices.
     
  6. Safz_b

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Safz_b Clouds, Clouds, Clouds of Flavour!!!

    Threads:
    8
    Posts:
    240
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    20/2/19
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +577
    So in theory it would be compatible with a 50/50 60/40 ratio it just might not be as satisfying because you wont be getting any throat hit?
     
  7. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    99
    Posts:
    1,919
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,217
    Correct, i doubt you will feel or get any nic satisfaction from 3mg on a pod device, would suggest around 12mg and even then you might feel like you arent getting much...thats how i feel with 12mg.
     
  8. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    99
    Posts:
    1,919
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +5,217
    Just an update, I see that some Vendors (Capital Vapes) are now stocking the MOTI vape and refillable pods for anyone that wants to get one.