Room Foggers review of the Voopoo Vinci Mod Pod

Discussion in 'Pod System Reviews' started by Room Fogger, 7/10/19.

  1. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reviewer, Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    15
    Posts:
    3,739
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +16,211
    Voopoo Vinci Mod Pod Kit

    Disclaimer – The views expressed in this review are based on my own experiences while testing the equipment being reviewed. The product was supplied by @VOOPOO and I am not receiving any payment to do this review.

    Overview
    This review will focus on the new offering by Voopoo, The Vinci Mod Pod Kit.
    https://www.voopoo.com/vinci

    Unboxing

    The kit is neatly and securely packaged in a dual level slide out box with a segmented foam molded insert on the top level containing the Mod Pod and the supplied coils, keeping it safe and ensuring it does not move around during transporting. A plain white box at the bottom holds the supplied USB cable and other documentation received with the kit.

    upload_2019-10-7_18-53-14.png

    The Mod Pod received was in a gunmetal finish with a resin side panel, in a Jade Green finish. (Photo courtesy of Voopoo as I forgot to take one).

    Package Contents included:

    Vinci Device
    Vinci Refillable Pod with 5.5ml capacity
    One PnP 0.3 Ohm Mesh DL coil and One PnP 0.8 Ohm MTL Coil
    USB Charging Cable
    GENE Chip Card
    Warranty Card
    User Manual
    Gift Card

    Initial impression

    The Vinci is in essence a normal Pod system with the battery component at the bottom, and a plastic tank with a wide mouthpiece sitting on top. And this is where the similarity ends. On the front the Vinci has a screen with a power button above and an up/down combination button on the bottom, as is usual to find on a normal mod as we know it. The charging micro USB slot is on the bottom of the device. It is similar in size or a bit bigger than some of the other devices available but sits extremely comfortable in the hand due to the length and the rounded edges, and allowing easy thumb access to both sets of buttons without having to move the device around in your hand. The build quality and finishing is of a very high standard.

    Specifications and Features:

    VOOPOO VINCI 40W Pod Kit Features:
    • Intelligent GENE Pod Chip
    • Dimensions - 104mm by 25.3mm by 25.3mm
    • Integrated 1500mAh Rechargeable Battery
    • Wattage Output Range: 5-40W
    • Voltage Output Range: 3.2-4.2V
    • Resistance Range: 0.1-3.0ohm
    • 3 Power Levels - 3.2V, 3.5V, 3.8V
    • Auto Mode - Draw-Activated Firing Mechanism.
    • Manual Mode – Button Firing Mechanism.
    • Puff Curve Mode.
    • 2 Week Usage Memory Log.
    • Aluminium-Alloy & Plastic Chassis Construction.
    • Two Adjustment Buttons.
    • Juice Viewing Window - Check Fill Level.
    • 0.96"" TFT Color Screen.
    Vinci Pod Features:
    • Refillable Pod - Replaceable.
    • 5.5mL Capacity Food Grade PCTG Refillable Pod.
    • Voopoo PnP Coil Series.
    • 0.3 Ohm PnP-VM1 Mesh Coil - rated for 32-40W (DTL).
    • 0.8 Ohm PnP-R1 Dual Coil - rated for 12-18W (MTL).
    • Plug 'n' Play Coil Installation.
    • Intelligent Coil Protection.
    • Dry Burn Protection.

    Additional Features
    • Intelligent GENE POD Chip.
    • Over Temperature Protection.
    • Max Power Protection.
    • Atomizer Short-Circuit Protection.
    • Over-Charge Protection.
    • Low Battery Protection.
    • Output Over-Current Protection.
    (As obtained from Voopoo website and other sources on the Internet)

    Opinion, likes and dislikes

    This Mod Pod system has been very well built and finished in my opinion and it should be able to withstand the rigor of normal day to day use, and the look is equally impressive in my opinion. It sits very comfortably in your hand, and the weight is very well balanced compared to the size, and it won’t feel as if you are towing a brick around the whole day. I also really like the colour that I received for testing, but the others are equally impressive. The other colors available are:

    upload_2019-10-7_18-55-50.png

    I at first tried it with the automatic draw activated system, you can also have both systems active at the same time but then rather chose the manual system where the power button was used to activate and vape. This was mostly as I was not getting it to fire each time while in this mode, but as I battle with bigger mouthpieces in getting a good seal and I am not sure whether this will be the same for other individuals. From there I had no problem whatsoever, it fired immediately and gave a very comfortable vape, and a definite pro regarding it giving you the ability to choose your preferred mode of use.

    Battery life was good in my opinion, especially with the 0.8 Ohm MTL coil, and it lasted me the whole day while vaping at between 12 Watt, as suggested when inserting the pod, and pushing it up to 18 Watt. I used the 0.3 Ohm mesh coil at mostly 30 Watt for the DL testing although the Mod suggested 35 Watt on inserting the pod, and battery life was not bad at all, both options used impressed me, but for the DL option here keep a charging station or power bank handy as you’re not going to get a full day of use. Recharging however was done in what felt like a blink of an eye and I was ready to go again.

    upload_2019-10-7_18-57-29.png upload_2019-10-7_18-57-52.png

    The fact that this pod system is compatible with the other Voopoo PnP coils gives you a lot more options to find one that works best for you, and the ability to play around with different Wattages was a definite pro. You can customize the experience to suit your preference regarding your type/style of vape or to get a sweet spot with the specific e-liquid you are using. The ability to choose between a quite airy MTL option, while it’s not for someone wanting a very tight draw, or a DL option definitely makes it an excellent multi-purpose tool in any vape arsenal. The overall airflow while vaping in both options was very smooth

    The Pod fills from the side by removing a rubber plug, and the hole size is large enough to make this process very easy, and the see through tank makes it easy to see where the juice level is at all times The capacity of 5.5 ml also means that you are not constantly having to refill the whole time, and with both coils consumption was impressive. I used a 60VG/40PG juice to test the 0.8 Ohm MTL coil, and a 70VG/30PG juice for the 0.3 Ohm mesh coil. Even when chain vaping I could not get a dry hit in either modes and I did not feel once that I was missing out on flavour. During the DL option I did notice that when it gets hot, i.e. in a car or pocket on a hot day I tended to end up with quite a bit of e-juice in my mouth, so my preferred use in summer will be MTL, maybe give the DL a go in cooler times.

    This is definitely going to become one of my day-to-day carries, both from a comfort, ease of use, consumption and tank capacity as well as a flavour point of view. Add another Pod and you can have 2 setups for convenience with two distinctly different vape experiences.

    A sincere thank you to @VOOPOO for supplying the Voopoo Vinci Mod Pod Kit for review and for giving me the opportunity to do a review on it.
     
    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • List
  2. Hooked

    Excellent Member

    4.375/5, 8 votes

    Hooked Got a lot to learn... ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    489
    Posts:
    9,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    10/9/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Yzerfontein
    Ratings:
    +21,553
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  3. Silver

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 35 votes

    Silver Flavour and throat hit seeker Staff Member Administrator ECIGSSA Donor VIP

    Threads:
    706
    Posts:
    40,585
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/11/13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Joburg
    Ratings:
    +76,037
    Thanks for the review @Room Fogger
    Very insightful and helpful

    5.5ml on a MTL device is great juice capacity and that appeals to me a lot.
    However your comment about an airy MTL draw makes me sad. I like my MTL tight.
    Nevertheless, good insight for me.
    Much appreciated
     
  4. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reviewer, Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    15
    Posts:
    3,739
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +16,211
    Thanks for the compliment @Hooked , I try and steer away from just being clinical in my reviews and to pass on my true experience to everyone out there that reads it. The facts go into the condensed review on my reviewers page with the link to the full one.
     
  5. daniel craig

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    daniel craig Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    73
    Posts:
    2,418
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    28/5/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    south africa, KZN
    Ratings:
    +2,992
    Awesome review @Room Fogger What are your thoughts on the ergonomics of this device?

    I've seen pod devices like SMOK's newer one that features a similar shape (cuboid?). How do you find this device's shape compared to a cylindrical/pen styled design?
     
  6. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reviewer, Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    15
    Posts:
    3,739
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +16,211
    Hi @daniel craig ,

    It is really a perfect fit for my hand at least, and doesn’t feel too thin, as with some or too fat in the hand. The length makes it very easy to hold and operate, and the rounded edges make sure you don’t get a “sharp” feel while holding. Weight is good for size that will make it a good fit and easy to carry around.

    I prefer the cuboid shape to a rectangular or round one, it sits in the correct orientation in you hand and is less likely to move around while using it. Of the couple of pod systems that I’ve tried this one is definitely the most comfortable to use imho.

    Hope this helps you a bit. It may not be perfect in everybody’s eyes, and as with everything else one or two little issues may have to be addressed, but this does not influence the experience very negatively. I like it and it’s going into my daily rotation for sure.
     
  7. daniel craig

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    daniel craig Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    73
    Posts:
    2,418
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    28/5/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    south africa, KZN
    Ratings:
    +2,992
    Thanks for that in depth reply. I was always curious about the cuboid design as it's relatively new. I have owned a cuboid styled 18650 device before but it definitely isn't as ergonomics as this pod device due to its size and material used.

    Looking at the images, it seems like the edges are slightly rounded off and the finish is smooth so I would assume this is why although it's a cuboid, it is still comfortable to use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List