The Deaf Vaper Reviews | VOOPOO DRAG 2 Platinum Mod

Discussion in 'Reviewers' started by RainstormZA, 13/4/19.

Tags:
  1. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Index List:

    1. Mango Freez One Shot (10ml)
    2. VOOPOO MAAT Tank
    3. VOOPOO Alpha Zip Kit
    4. VOOPOO Drag 2 Platinum Mod
    5. Reserved
    6. Reserved



    About Me
    vaper-logo.jpg
    I am a deaf South African, about to immigrate to the UK. I have been vaping exclusively since August 2017 and became a member of the ECIGSSA forums in August 2017 at the same time. It’s been a real life-changer, having quitted smoking and turned to vaping as an alternative. I had planned to quit but vaping has become an hobby for me and I don’t think I will quit any time soon.

    Hence, becoming a vaping reviewer, and to share with the world, my experiences, knowledge and time put into all vaping related things so that the quitters will not make the same mistakes I did when I first started vaping.

    I have a blog site where I will document my vaping journey - https://thedeafvaperreviews.home.blog/
     
    • Winner Winner x 14
    • Like Like x 3
    • List
    Last edited: 24/4/19 at 15:58
  2. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Mango Freez One Shot (10ml)
    [​IMG]
    Company: Super Shots by Flavour World
    Product Name: Mango Freez One Shot
    Mod: Various for testing
    Watts/Volts: 30-40W
    Atomiser: Various for flavour and cloud testing
    Coil Resistance: 0.22 - 0.35 ohms
    Strength: 3mg Gold Nicotine DIY
    Price: R69 (ZAR) for 10ml (makes 100ml), R170 (ZAR) for 30ml (makes 300ml)
    Website: https://www.flavourworld.co.za/products/mango-freez-one-shot

    Product description on website:

    A ripe sweet ice cold malaysian mango juice

    Reviewer Notes/First Impressions:

    At first impressions, it tasted just like Ola’s Paddle Pop Mango and Orange ice tubes that I normally get from our local supermarkets on an hot day. It smells and tastes exactly like that.

    As this is a one-shot that I bought from Flavourworld SA, you need to add VG (Vegetable Glycerin), PG (Propylene Glycol) and nicotine if needed. I added the VG, PG and 3mg of Nicotine to make 100ml through a ejuice calculator and it was mixed at 60VG / 40PG, recommendation says 70/30 but I have no issues with it being at 60/40.

    However, vaping it is a different story. Well, not completely different but there is very little ice and I was expecting more of a blast in my face type of ice. It’s impressive enough, it’s quite sweet but for those who love their sweet ripe mangos, this is for you. If you let it go to “dry burn” stage, it doesn’t taste that good. For those with RTA’s, I would suggest you don’t let the tank empty half way as it tends to give off a funny taste (almost like dry burning, think that’s the juice burning off the coils).

    I tested it with 3 different tanks and mods. An RDA is not so bad as I was using a Pico Squeeze 2 with the Coral 2 RDA – it’s alright but not ideal really. Then I used my OFRF Gear RTA – this is a tank that does not like high wattage – it was great at first then started tasting funny, and after a few vapes, it came back normal so I don’t think it’s suitable for RTA’s either.

    I just tested the new MAAT tank from Voopoo and after 3 tanks, I have to say I am really impressed with the new tank design. Flavour is very consistent all the way through. This is a subohm tank that has interchangeable coils and stays submersed in the tank with the juice so I think this juice is suited to subohm tanks.

    It is certainly a perfect ADV (All Day Vape), I can vape several tanks of this DIY juice and not feel queasy afterwards.

    Rating: 9/10 for flavour and 8/10 for average clouds
    Conclusion: Would I buy it again? Yes definitely!!!
     
    • Like Like x 10
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • List
  3. vicTor

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    vicTor Elite Vaper

    Threads:
    26
    Posts:
    1,812
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    27/8/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Edenvale
    Ratings:
    +6,140
    following !

    :FADDANCING:
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Silver

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 35 votes

    Silver Flavour and throat hit seeker Staff Member Administrator ECIGSSA Donor VIP

    Threads:
    666
    Posts:
    38,654
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/11/13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Joburg
    Ratings:
    +69,736
    Great to see @RainstormZA
    Thanks for the review on this one shot. Have been keen to try it for some time
    I may need to add some ice if you say its got little ice

    All the best for the reviews and am looking forward to seeing what you review next
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. MrGSmokeFree

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    MrGSmokeFree Loves tobacco juice with a kick ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    11
    Posts:
    1,395
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    19/2/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +8,550
    hhhh.gif
    Awesome intro and review @RainstormZA :number_one: may we get many more reviews from you.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Yes, even cranking at 40w, the ice factor stays the same. So I definitely would add more ice for a colder effect.

    Thanks guys, I have a few more reviews lined up and they should be posted from Monday.

    Watch this space for the Voopoo MAAT Atomizer, the Alpha Zip Kit and Voopoo Drag 2 Platinum.
     
    Last edited: 19/4/19
  7. Chanelr

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 9 votes

    Chanelr Vape Reviewer

    Threads:
    0
    Posts:
    881
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    4/7/18
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  8. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Now I’m not sure how to start this review on the VOOPOO MAAT tank but I have a million things coursing through my brain about this tank.

    I was send this tank by Thea at VOOPOO for testing and reviewing.

    Company: VOOPOO VAPE
    Product Name: MAAT Tank
    Mod used: VOOPOO Drag 2 Platinum with 2 x 18650 Samsung 25R batteries
    Watts/Volts: 40W / 2.24v
    Coil Resistance: 0.21 ohms
    Wicking Material: Streaky Cotton
    Official Website: http://www.voopoo.com/maat

    [​IMG]
    I got to say that I am very impressed with the new design. Taking it out of the box and holding it in my hand made me realise how heavy it is and that it will add extra weight to an already heavy mod that may hold either dual 18650 or 21700 batteries. And it’s not your average tank either.

    And not your average tank, meaning the coils are a completely different design. There is no screwing in or fiddly parts. It’s just simply a pull out and pop in type, no rocket science is required. I was supposed to get 3 different coils but somehow I only got two for testing. Apparently the third coil is a triple-coil mesh design.

    This tank uses three different MT Coils. They are compatible and interchangeable.

    Break down of the three MT Coils:

    MT-M1
    • Smooth but original
    • Resistance: 0.13Ω
    • Type: Single Mesh Coil
    • Range: 60-85W
    [​IMG]
    MT-M1
    MT-M2
    • Intensive and enhanced
    • Resistance: 0.2Ω
    • Type: Dual Mesh Coils
    • Range: 55-80W
    [​IMG]
    MT-M2
    MT-M3
    • Boost for the thickest
    • Resistance: 0.17Ω
    • Type: Triple Mesh Coils
    • Range: 65-85W
    [​IMG]
    MT-M3

    Now that I’ve been using the Drag 2 Platinum with the MAAT tank for a couple of days. I was really sceptical with this product as I’ve had some unsavoury experiences with sub-ohm tanks and I have to really say wow. This is a sub-ohm tank you will want to keep in your collection. It brings out really good flavour and clouds on top of that.

    I have tested this tank with at least two of my own DIY juices and the flavours are very consistent right through from full to empty. This one juice that I made from a one-shot, did not fare well in my RTA and in my RDA. But it is a winner in the VOOPOO MAAT tank – the flavour stays consistent all the way through. Sad to say, I discovered that this tank doesn’t like thinner ejuices and you need to stick to 70/30 ejuices. The 60/40 that I have tends to leak from the bottom and I don’t think 50/50 will be suitable either.

    Pros and Cons
    I will start listing the pros and cons of this tank

    The pros of having this tank are many.
    • Great flavour
    • Reasonable amount of clouds, depending on wattage and airflow control
    • Straight and bubble glass comes in this package
    • Bottom airflow design with middle airflow control ring
    • Easy to disassemble and reassemble
    • Pull out and pop in coil method, instead of screwing them in
    The cons of this tank, a few listed below
    • It gets hot pretty quickly, if you chain-vape like I do
    • Ejuice that is of 60/40 and 50/50 tends to leak after a couple of vapes. I recommend using 70/30 ejuices.
    • No interchangeable drip-tip
    • Very airy tank, lots of air flow for those who prefer a restricted DL vape
    Other than the cons on this list, I have to say this is really a well-designed sub-ohm tank. It’s great for beginners and for experienced lazy vapers. It does not require a PHD in anything to change these simple coils and you can never go wrong with them.

    That is pretty much the end of my review. Hope you enjoyed it!

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  9. CaliGuy

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    CaliGuy Dedicated Vaper

    Threads:
    20
    Posts:
    505
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    10/7/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion - Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +1,508
    @RainstormZA I have check out all your reviews including the blog page, nicely done TBH and I personally enjoy my written reviews. Like the photos and the info provided for hardware goes into detail as it’s clear you have been reviewing the device for a while to draw certain conclusions.

    One thing I like a lot in reviews is when a reviewer from personal experience with lots of different hardware can offer a comparison of what is being reviewed with other product like “this is similar to this, airflow/flavour/look & feel”. This for me allows the user to have a reverence point of comparison which helps a lot and should be part of any potential buyers decision making process. I want hardware that vapes like devices I already have and enjoy, having a reviewer guide me towards that will keep me interested.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 3
    • List
    Last edited: 15/4/19
  10. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Thank you and that's exactly why I wrote it my way. No one likes reading an article as long as the Wall of China. Short, and sweet plus a few pointers that may be important to note down.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  11. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    55
    Posts:
    1,065
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +2,816
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  12. Spyro

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Spyro Elite Vaper

    Threads:
    51
    Posts:
    1,111
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +3,051
    I'd love to watch a few reviews in sign language! I think you've found something here that could well explode.

    Goodluck to you!
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  13. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    13
    Posts:
    3,236
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +13,132
    Great review @RainstormZA , looking forward:campeon: to your next one.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  14. MrGSmokeFree

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 2 votes

    MrGSmokeFree Loves tobacco juice with a kick ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    11
    Posts:
    1,395
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    19/2/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +8,550
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  15. vicTor

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    vicTor Elite Vaper

    Threads:
    26
    Posts:
    1,812
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    27/8/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Edenvale
    Ratings:
    +6,140
    happy birthday !
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  16. Chanelr

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 9 votes

    Chanelr Vape Reviewer

    Threads:
    0
    Posts:
    881
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    4/7/18
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    Very happy birthday to you @RainstormZA . hope you have a great day and and absolutely amazing year
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  17. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    13
    Posts:
    3,236
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +13,132
    :applaudit: Happy birthday @RainstormZA , may the year ahead surprise you every day with something that takes your breath away. :applaudit:
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  18. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 1 vote

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    55
    Posts:
    1,065
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +2,816
    Happy Birthday @RainstormZA Hope you have a great day!!
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  19. Bulldog

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    Bulldog Vaping Enthusiast

    Threads:
    7
    Posts:
    934
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    15/2/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Grotto Bay
    Ratings:
    +3,516
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  20. ARYANTO

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    ARYANTO It is what it is... ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    6
    Posts:
    2,376
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    JOHANNESBURG
    Ratings:
    +9,868
    Hi Rain , I'm one of the lucky winners of the MAAT competition and can't wait to lay my grubby paws on it . Thank you for your time and review
    PS : Happy birthday !
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  21. Spyro

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Spyro Elite Vaper

    Threads:
    51
    Posts:
    1,111
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cape Town
    Ratings:
    +3,051
    Hope your birthday was awesome!
     
  22. KZOR

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 12 votes

    KZOR Proudly South African Vaper ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    202
    Posts:
    2,965
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bellville, Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +10,058
    H/Bday @RainstormZA . Great day to have a birthday .... just before the long weekend. Enjoy every moment of it. :)
     
  23. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Thanks ladies and gentlemen. It was a quiet day, stayed in all day watching a rerun of Caprica and Battlestar Galactica, while crocheting jerseys for my niece and nephew.
     
  24. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 7 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    49
    Posts:
    3,745
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Mooiriver, KZN Midlands
    Ratings:
    +10,234
    Next review is about the VOOPOO Alpha Zip Kit

    VOOPOO Alpha Zip Kit

    I will be writing this article about the Alpha Zip kit that was provided by VOOPOO for reviewing and testing.

    Company: VOOPOO VAPE
    Product Name: Alpha Zip Kit
    Batteries used: 2 x 18650 Samsung 25R batteries
    Watts / Voltage: 30W – 40W / 2.10v – 2.96v
    Tank: MAAT Sub-Ohm tank
    Coil Resistance: 0.13 ohms (MT-M1 single coil)
    Wicking Material: Cotton Bacon V2
    Official Website: http://www.voopoo.com/alpha-zip

    [​IMG]

    Packaging is a black and white sturdy cardboard box with all the information printed on the front, back and sides. You can see clearly that this is a, what one in the vaping world would call, a starter kit as it comes with a Alpha Zip 180W mod, a MAAT tank pre-installed with one of the two coils included (MT-M1 and MT-M2 coils), USB cable, spare glass tube (4ml/2ml), spare sealing rings, warranty card, GENE CHIP card clearly printed on the back.

    Opening the box, it seems to have been very well designed in packaging terms as this box size saves on space. The MAAT tank is on the bottom layer of the box while the mod is on the top layer, both protected by foam cut-outs.

    So I take the mod out from the top foam cut-out. At first, it feels strange because it actually does feel like holding a small box, almost like a packet of cigarettes. The emboss print on the panels feel both rubbery with some smooth surfaces in between. I was actually surprised at the weight because it was super light. Then again, I haven’t put the batteries in so the batteries could add some weight to it.

    You see the usual items in the lower foam-cut out as it was outlined on the back of the box – the MAAT tank, spare glass, usb cable, cards, spare sealing rings.

    So I proceed to open the battery door that is on the side of the mod and add 2 x 18650 batteries. Not bad on the extra weight. The screen could do with some working in making it a lot more brighter. The battery door is held by magnets, they are pretty decent. The nice thing about this mod is that there are no seams visible – it just looks like it’s sealed but if you look at the bottom of this mod, you will find a depressed area that actually helps you to open the battery side door.

    Then it’s time to screw on the MAAT tank and test the Alpha Zip kit.

    I have already written a separate review for the MAAT tank here

    [​IMG]

    This mod comes with a GENE.Fit chip. Once you put a new tank on, it will ask you if it’s a new coil or old coil. You can choose to click yes and it will auto-adjust the wattage according to the type of coil you have installed in the MAAT tank. Easy? Yes. But if you are like me, I prefer to set my own wattage to my comfort zone. I set it to 30W and increased until I felt it was good enough and stopped at 40W.

    I tested the GENE.Fit chip mode. It has 1, 2 and 3 modes to choose from. I started with 1 and it was a bit low for me so I pressed the + button to select 2. Wow, that’s a nice increase in flavour and clouds. 3 was a bit too much for me. The nice thing about this chip is that you can decrease and increase on the go, no fiddly stuff – just press the + and – buttons. It’s convenient, quick and easy to switch between the 3 modes. No ramp up time either.

    Standard Mode is pretty much what most mods have so that’s nothing new and it also operates on Temperature Control Mode, again nothing new. The only new thing about this mod is the GENE.Fit chip, I have to say it is awesome.

    Pros and Cons
    I will start listing the pros and cons of this kit

    The pros
    • Great flavour with reasonable amount of clouds, depending on wattage and airflow control.
    • Straight and bubble glass comes in this package.
    • MAAT Sub-Ohm tank and two coils (MT-M1 and MT-M2)
    • Easy to disassemble and reassemble.
    • GENE.Fit chip for faster access to different vaping modes (1, 2, 3).
    The cons
    • Slight battery door rattle but it’s not a deal breaker.
    • Asking me every time it powers up if it’s a new or old coil, even when you haven’t switched it off or not changed anything.
    • Battery life isn’t that great with the MAAT Tank, the tank would suit a mod that can use 21700 batteries.
    • Dim screen – this could be improved with a brighter screen.
    Other than the cons on this list, I have to say this is not what I had expected from a boxy looking design. If you can look past the exterior, this is a really good mod with a GENE.Fit chip that does 3 different modes without you needing to do some big adjustments. All you have to do is press the + and – button to change between 1, 2 and 3. It is very simple and easy to use.

    I would definitely recommend this mod.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  25. daniel craig

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    daniel craig Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    73
    Posts:
    2,412
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    28/5/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    south africa, KZN
    Ratings:
    +2,976
    Awesome review and a good read! Maybe VooPoo will fix the issue about the mod asking if it's a new coil in a software update. I can assume it will start getting irritating to keep having to select 'new' or 'old' when using the device.