My first DIY coil and built

Marius Keinhans

Experienced Vaper
LV

Awards
Made my first coil today and fitted it to my Steam Crave Classic MTL RTA. It only took me three try's to get the wicking right, but got there eventually.
Got one question though and it might have been asked and answered before. How do I decide what the correct wattage for my coil is. As a electronic technician I am very familiar with ohms law, but picking a appropriate wattage seems like a dark art to me. My coil measures 1.3 ohms, so what would be the correct wattage? When using prebuild coils there was always a suggested wattage range, using that wattage rang for a similar wattage coil, it just have no flavor. Pushing the wattage up, it gets better, but I need to know how far I can go. Thanks for any help.

20220518_134120.jpg

Made my first coil today and fitted it to my Steam Crave Classic MTL RTA. It only took me three try's to get the wicking right, but got there eventually.
Got one question though and it might have been asked and answered before. How do I decide what the correct wattage for my coil is. As a electronic technician I am very familiar with ohms law, but picking a appropriate wattage seems like a dark art to me. My coil measures 1.3 ohms, so what would be the correct wattage? When using prebuild coils there was always a suggested wattage range, using that wattage rang for a similar wattage coil, it just have no flavor. Pushing the wattage up, it gets better, but I need to know how far I can go. Thanks for any help.

View attachment 256063

I would start at around 15 and slowly work up to max 20 watts and see where you get the sweet spot

Hi Marius, this may help

It gives you an idea of where your limits are. Please give more info on wire type and awg, what ID is the coil

Adjusting the heat flux at the bottom of the page there will give you an idea on what W to use.

Hi Marius, this may help