Silver

Flavour and throat hit seeker
Staff member
Administrator
ECIGSSA Donor
VIP
LV

Awards
This is my first review of a coil! If you told me a few years ago that one day I'd be reviewing a piece of metal that looks like a coil witha wavy pattern in it I would have said you are mad!

Advance the clock a few years and here I am installing a pair of "Aliens" into my Petri dripper and getting all excited to find out how the vape is.

Today I am talking about a pair of Alien coils by a talented local coilmaker and supporting vendor, @smilelykumeenit

Some history and backstory:
Firstly, I am not experienced with so called "exotic" coils. I have a fused clapton in my Billet Box and have tried one or two exotics over the past year but almost all my vaping is on simple coils with round wire that I build myself. i dont like having to rely on getting commercial coils and i havent learnt yet how to build the exotics so i have stuck with basic coils and have been very happy with them.

A while back I asked @smilelykumeenit to build for me some coils for my Petri V2 RDA, which I love. I've been using normal round wire on it for some time and I know it well. I bought the coils and picked it up from him at the last ECIGSSA JHB Vape Meet in December. Yes I know its been a long time and long overdue. But i wanted to find a juice that worked well on my normal round wire setup and get to know it well so when I switch to these coils I could compare. Took me longer than I had hoped.

I dont have experience with exotic coils, so perhaps take this "review" from the perspective of how a normal round wire vaper perceives the difference when switching to exotic Aliens ;-)

First up, here are my existing coils that were in my Petri. Standard 26g NI80 and CB2. 2.5mm ID.

f43b5e6054808085c23b7e2b2cab3b7c.jpg

Here are the Aliens from @smilelykumeenit. They are 3mm ID and he made them especially for the Petri. Just gorgeous.

348fab011c975eac52422fdd9bf5a98f.jpg