Voopoo Drag X Plus - ZAVape Review

Discussion in 'Regulated Mod Reviews' started by StompieZA, 27/1/21.

  1. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    134
    Posts:
    2,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +6,567
    VOOPOO-Drag-X-Plus-Box-Kit_01_Xazjddt.jpg
    Good day fellow Vapers,

    Today we take a look at the all new Drag X Plus with a whole bunch of changes. Now i never received or reviewed the Drag X so i cannot really compare in this review but will go through all the new additional features!

    IMG_20210120_142323.jpg

    The Drag X Plus continues with the the same design with smooth Persian leather and a very light metal/aluminum body which in my opinion looks great and classy! It now has 100W of vaping power where as the X only had 80W however i have personally never needed anything over 60W even on dual coils!

    IMG_20210120_142427.jpg

    The Drag X Plus has an all new GENE.FAN 2.0 chip set that provides a harder hit with a 0.0001s fire rate.

    [​IMG]

    Its power output provides a stable output with even better user functions such as a intelligent interactive user mode that offers "smart" and "RBA" modes.

    upload_2021-1-27_8-4-0.png
    [​IMG]


    As mentioned in the begining, the device is super light! It feels like you are holding nothing in your hand and this is all because of the new TPP pod tank that offers 510 connection. The device without battery is only 133grams in weight!! Trust me its super light without a battery!

    The new TPP Pod Tank provides a sleek look but also excellent flavor and performance with a dual air flow on on the base of the tank.

    upload_2021-1-27_7-58-47.png

    The TPP Tank has two coils, a 0.15ohm and 0.2ohm coil and they both provide excellent performance and super flavor! They are both Mesh type coils with a quick ramp up!!

    upload_2021-1-27_8-0-53.png

    The colorfull 0.96Inch TFT screen is just beautiful!! The screen is bright and easy to see both indoors and outdoors! The device also features two built in themes and personally i think both of them look great and fits the device personality!

    upload_2021-1-27_8-3-14.png
    IMG_20210120_142845.jpg
    IMG_20210120_142915.jpg

    Now onto one of the best features to me is the battery!! The X Plus now allows external battery use for both 18650 and 27100 batteries and also includes a battery tube or what ever you may call it to fit a 18650 battery snug without any rattles. This gives the user much better control over battery life allowing users to simply change batteries when out of power!

    upload_2021-1-27_8-6-51.png

    Filling the tank is different due to it being a Pod tank. The filling port sits at the bottom of the tank and the top part of the tank is held in place by magnets. I haven't had issues with the top falling out as the magnets are quite strong and holds the tank in place. I personally don't like the bottom fill but i guess it makes to top look smoother ascetically.

    upload_2021-1-27_8-10-49.png

    IMG_20210120_142755.jpg IMG_20210120_142726.jpg IMG_20210120_152818.jpg IMG_20210120_152827.jpg

    Onto the informative aspect of sizes, parameters and packaging :

    upload_2021-1-27_8-7-41.png
    upload_2021-1-27_8-8-5.png

    Found this comparative sheet online,

    upload_2021-1-27_8-13-6.png

    The most obvious points are:

    1. the NEW TPP pod tank with brand new and improved TPP coils.
    2. Drag X Plus also compatible with PnP pod (so pnp coils are also compatible) which makes it offers more options for vapers to choose the tanks and a wider range of wattage output!
    3. Drag X Plus 510 Connector available.
    4. Drag X plus is also compatible 21700 battery

    Pro's
    1. Looks super sexy and classy with the light body and soft leather
    2. Flavor on the TPP tank is really good!
    3. Takes both 18650 and 27100 battery's and includes reducer tube
    4. Great looking screen and themes which is easy to understand
    5. Intelligent mode that recognizes the type of coil or RTA tanks.
    6. Really Really light! 133grams!
    7. Excellent adjustable airflow
    8. C-Type USB port
    Con's
    1. Pod Tank coils seem to leak a little into the base at times (Not always)
    2. TPP Pod tank airflow has slight whistle to it depending on airflow setting.

    Conclusion:

    Although i havent reviewed a proper Voopoo box mod in a very long time (Think the last one was the Drag 2 Platinum), I am blown away at the ongoing quality of the Voopoo products and over all aesthetic looks. The light metal body with the soft leather looks really good and classy, really looks like a DNA device with that expensive look. The TPP tank works great and offers excellent flavor with the new style mesh coils! The battery option is by far the best, All manufacturers should start making this option and stop only using 18650 batteries! Battery life for the win as this baby offers great battery life even when using a 18650. Its really a great device and feels great in your hand and is super easy to use! Anyone will love this Drag!!

    Would i buy one with my own money: I would and would recommend anyone opting for a new device to look at the new Drag series mods!

    BIG Thanks again to Chloe @VOOPOO for sending me the devices to review!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 7
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • List
  2. Stranger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    Stranger Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    90
    Posts:
    3,011
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    24/6/19
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gauteng South Africa
    Ratings:
    +16,574
    Now this looks attractive to me purely because of the 510 adapter. I am not into pods but do like the look and functionality of this mod. The Dwarv clones that I use for ADV tend to leave a fair bit of condensation on a dual battery mod, whereby the tube type tends to stay clean. 21700 should last a lot longer than the 18650 and the Sanyo 20700 b with a whopping 4250 Mah should last all day.
     
  3. Hooked

    Excellent Member

    4.66667/5, 15 votes

    Hooked Got a lot to learn... ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    827
    Posts:
    15,079
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    10/9/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Yzerfontein
    Ratings:
    +46,126
    Thanks for the informative review @StompieZA.

    I use the Drag X and it's a fantastic mod. The Drag X Plus with the choice of batteries sounds even better!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    134
    Posts:
    2,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +6,567
    Yeah im also long over due over pods....

    Been using this X Plus for the past week and its really a great device and really light.

    Just switched over from the X Plus to the Drag 3 to start testing for review and immediately due to dual battery it hits harder but other than that its pretty much the same device, just looks slightly different and takes 2 batteries.
     
  5. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    134
    Posts:
    2,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +6,567
    Thanks for the positive feedback and i agree. The battery option makes this a great device especially the 21700 part!
     
  6. ace_d_house_cat

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    ace_d_house_cat Elite Vaper

    Threads:
    89
    Posts:
    1,238
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    25/8/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
    Ratings:
    +2,477
    How much bigger is the Drag X Pro compared to the Drag X?
     
  7. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 5 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser Supporting Vendor

    Threads:
    134
    Posts:
    2,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +6,567
    It is slightly taller by around 15mm due to the tank and mod taking batteries.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  8. Kay joyi

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Kay joyi Noob Vaper

    Threads:
    0
    Posts:
    3
    Country:
    Singapore
    Joined:
    1/9/21
    Location:
    Zambia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Great!!