Voopoo VINCI Mod/Pod - Review

Discussion in 'Pod System Reviews' started by StompieZA, 2/10/19.

  1. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    af01d342e124f00743701379d5933d7e.jpg

    Voopoo recently released their latest Mod Pod device the VINCI which won the best hardware award at ECC 2019. It has only recently launced in SA and become available at certain stores. I have used the device over the course of 4 days and here is my thoughts.

    Item Name :
    Voopoo VINCI Mod/Pod
    Manufacturer: @VOOPOO
    Website: https: www.voopoo.com
    Cost: R599 @Sir Vape

    ***DISCLAIMER*** This device was supplied to me by @VOOPOO for the purpose of reviewing the product for them and providing my personal feedback and opinion of this device.

    As usual, here are the unboxing pictures of the box and device

    IMG_20190927_153956.jpg IMG_20190927_154008.jpg IMG_20190927_153937.jpg
    IMG_20190927_154058.jpg IMG_20190927_154110.jpg IMG_20190927_154125.jpg IMG_20190927_154229.jpg

    What’s inside the box you ask?

    Package List

    1 x Voopoo VINCI 40W Device
    1 x 5.5mL Voopoo Vinci Replacement Pod
    1 x 0.3ohm PnP-MV1 Mesh Coil - rated for 32-40W
    1 x 0.8ohm PnP-R1 Dual Coil - rated for 12-18W
    1 x User Manual
    1 x USB Cable
    1 x GENE Chip Card
    1 x Warranty Card

    2019-10-02 15_55_37-VINCI MOD POD - VOOPOO VAPE Spark Your Moments.png

    Technical specifications are also important, so here they are:

    2019-10-02 15_55_06-VINCI MOD POD - VOOPOO VAPE Spark Your Moments.png

    With that out of the way, lets look at the user experience and how I find the device after using for a couple of days.

    Looks and aesthetics

    From the packaging which is very informative on the outside to and very neatly done to the inside of the box where you find the VINCI, everything is done beautifully. The first glance at the VINCI lying in the box, it’s a little piece of elegance and art! She shines with a reflective charcoal chrome finish and then the nice two-sided panels with the color designs that changes patterns as the angle changes. I think its truly one of the nicest looking pods I have used to date, the screen is well laid out with lots of information and its bright and easy to read.

    Vaping and user experience?

    The coils are PnP which makes it easy to pull out and just pop in a new one. I started off with the mesh coil as I love me some mesh coils and the flavour they bring. I primed the coil on each of the 4 wicking holes and filled the pod up. The pod holds a good 5.5ml amount of liquid which is probably the most compared to any other pod, so winner!

    The device has several protection functions that ranges from over vaping, short circuit, coil burnout and the other usuals from voopoo’s Gene.AI chip. One the pod is switched on, you are required to program the time, fit the coil and the pod will automatically recognize the coil and allow either full 40W on the mesh or a lower power setting if it detects the MTL coil at around 15W due to the Gene.Ai intelligent chip.

    IMG_20190927_154148.jpg
    Pressing the fire button 3 times will change the draw setting from Auto (Draw activated and fire button active), Fire button only, Draw activated only or both which I love. After using the device, I find that the draw activation sensor is a little inconsistent so I have switched to only using the fire button which works great.

    Flavour usability on this pod?

    Being an MTL and DL mod pod, the coils are well suited for this device. The DL coil is quite open and with the two sides of airflow on the device, allows for plenty of flavour and air without being that restrictive. The MTL coil is the same as found on the Find S Trio pod and the Baby Drag kit and offers a good restrictive drag perfect for MTL.

    IMG_20190927_154349.jpg IMG_20190927_154404.jpg IMG_20190927_154416.jpg IMG_20190927_154501.jpg

    As you can see from the above pictures, the pods house 4 magnets on each corner that holds the pod firmly in place to ensure it does not fall out at all. The filling hole is located on the side of the pod and is closed off using a small rubber door that just pops open when you need to refill.

    The pods have this cool feature where the airflow holes line up with a airflow slot on the pods. The pod can be turned 180deg which will then move the slot away from the airflow holes on the mod creating a tighter draw or turn it back and it will be a open draw.

    Here you can see the airflow holes situated on the sides of the device which is located on both sides.

    IMG_20190927_154331.jpg

    Direct to Lung (DL PnP-VM1 Coil – 0.3ohm)

    The DTL is a mesh coil with a good amount of cotton and a decent mesh coil that provides for really good flavour from this little coil. The coil does tend to sometimes want to run dry if you vape too much or too quick after the next draw, but it copes with 70/30 liquid without any issues. As mentioned, the flavour is great and will match an RTA for sure and the coil isn’t a juice guzzler which is also a bonus.

    Mouth to Lung (MTL PnP R1 Coil – 0.8ohm)

    Nice and restrictive draw which also works great and feels great with the mouthpiece selected for this device. Long MTL draws are possible without getting dry hits. Delivery is smooth and flavour is excellent. I used Nic salt tobacco as well as a mango ice juice at 60/40 and worked great.

    Battery Life, Is it that good?

    Battery life is good. I have been using the device over 3 days straight from the box in between my normal daily setup and its still going strong. I have been vaping around 30W to 40W and playing around with the settings and its running great with the 1500mAh built in battery. The screen displays the battery life on the top, so you always know what the battery life is at.

    Available colors:

    As good looking as the VINCI is, they come in several great looking colors!

    upload_2019-10-2_14-59-27.png
    upload_2019-10-2_14-59-40.png


    My Pro's

    +++DL and MTL coils included making it one device with two options to cater for all
    +++Excellent flavour and clouds from both coils
    +++Manual and Auto draw modes
    +++Great overall look and hand feel with beautiful design.
    +++Excellent battery life from the 1500mAh battery
    +++Decent 5.5ml juice capacity
    +++Great juice consumption, it provides great flavour but is easy on juice!
    +++Great pod mouth feel and design
    +++4 x Pod magnets that are strong and keeps the pod in place
    +++Easy filling with rubber seal
    +++Smooth draw without any noise
    +++Good clear and informative screen with daily puff monitor function.
    +++Won Best hardware at ECC 2019 – I give it to them.


    My Cons's

    ---The auto draw activation isn’t too great or consistent. When taking a draw, it will fire and stop on and off if you don’t draw hard enough, which is why I prefer the button setting.
    ---Pod leakage into the bottom of the mod
    ---Slight liquid “leak” into your mouth when vaping at times.
    ---Fingerprint magnet! (But easily wipes clean)

    Conclusion?
    From all the pod devices i have tested, used and reviewed this has to be the best one yet, It looks great and has several good features like adjustable wattage, the fire options and puff count to monitor your usage. I have really high hopes until i realized that the pod had leaked into the base of the device which might even cause issues with the contact pins down the line perhaps. Its a solid pod/mod truly giving you the best of both a mod and a pod all in one device.

    Recommendation out of 10: 7.5 out of 10
    Recommend to Vapers :
    Id consider it yes! to both experienced and noob vapers.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Like Like x 3
    • List
    Last edited: 2/10/19
  2. Hooked

    Excellent Member

    4.375/5, 8 votes

    Hooked Got a lot to learn... ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    489
    Posts:
    9,293
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    10/9/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Yzerfontein
    Ratings:
    +21,553
    Seems impressive, thanks for the informative review @StompieZA !
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  3. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Thanks Hooked, Appreciate the feedback.
     
  4. Drikusw

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    Drikusw Experienced Vaper

    Threads:
    3
    Posts:
    152
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    13/7/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Centurion
    Ratings:
    +729
    Great review. I like the fact that you tested the device with 70/30 juices as well as higher pg liquids.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • List
  5. Silver

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 35 votes

    Silver Flavour and throat hit seeker Staff Member Administrator ECIGSSA Donor VIP

    Threads:
    706
    Posts:
    40,585
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    16/11/13
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Joburg
    Ratings:
    +76,037
    Thanks for the insightful feedback @StompieZA
    Pity about the leaks
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. RainstormZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 8 votes

    RainstormZA The Deaf Vaper Reviews

    Threads:
    55
    Posts:
    4,065
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Joined:
    24/8/17
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Selby, North Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +11,420
    Great review, @StompieZA! I have exactly the same issues as you have there, kind of puts me off when some things don't work as intended but if those issues were addressed, it is a really great mod pod.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  7. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Yeah i like pods that can use higher than 60/40 or 50/50 juices, just makes it so much better! Chain vaping this pod using the DL coil will sometimes taste like its starting to run dry though.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Agreed, It wasnt that much but a leak is a leak none the less. Could possibly be flooding because as mentioned you sometimes get a couple drops in your mouth which i hate
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  9. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Fully agree, apart from the leak i really enjoy the device and the flavor!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reviewer, Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    15
    Posts:
    3,739
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +16,211
    Great review @StompieZA , keep em coming. Mine is up and it seems as if we had one or two common things that may need to be looked at. Enjoyed your in depth technical evaluation.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  11. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Thanks bud, I will read yours :) Been using mine alot since i received it and works great!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  12. Room Fogger

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 18 votes

    Room Fogger Reviewer, Reonaut and Vaping Addict ECIGSSA Donor

    Threads:
    15
    Posts:
    3,739
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    21/10/17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Krugersdorp, West Rand
    Ratings:
    +16,211
    Mine upgraded it standing to daily MTL carry on the first day, not often that that happens!
     
  13. daniel craig

    Not Rated Member

    0/5,

    daniel craig Vaping Addict

    Threads:
    73
    Posts:
    2,418
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    28/5/15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    south africa, KZN
    Ratings:
    +2,992
    Looks pretty cool. Great review @StompieZA How would you rate it as a MTL device?
     
  14. StompieZA

    Excellent Member

    5/5, 3 votes

    StompieZA Reviewer, DIY Lover & Flavor Chaser

    Threads:
    95
    Posts:
    1,818
    Country:
    South Africa
    Joined:
    7/6/16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Kempton park
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    I personally enjoy it but its not that restrictive for a true MTL experience. You also have the option of turning the pod to restrict the airflow even more.