Hypothetical questions

Systematical

Clouds McGee
LV

Awards
Okay so, I've recently been looking at getting a Noisy Cricket and well...I need advice. Would it be safe to run it with HG2's and a 0.1-0.25 Ohm dual coil build ? I'm fairly new to the entire business concerning Volt Dropage, etc.

Sorry for the dumb questions and thanks for any help. :banana:

Hi @Systematical

I see that you're fairly new to the forum, so welcome! First of all, there are no dumb questions when it comes to safety - so please don't apologize for asking. Second of all, I don't have a Noisy Cricket (or any series mech mod) and am by no means an expert, but I'm sure some of the more knowledgeable guys will chip in later in the morning.

The simple answer to your question is - PLEASE please do not run a 0.1 - 0.25 ohm build on a series mech mod with LG HG2's or any other batteries for that matter. The amount of actual voltage put out on the Noisy Cricket (on two fully charged 4.2 v batteries) seems to be a matter of debate and I've seen anything between 7.4 and 8 volts mentioned. On 7.4 volts you will get 274 watts power and 37 amp draw on the batteries, whilst on 8 volts you will get 320 watts power and 40 amps draw on the batteries. These are WAY more than any 18650's can handle (even the Sony VTC3/ LG HB2 / LG HB6 - which has half the mah capacity of the HG2's, but a higher amp draw) and you might be putting yourself in serious danger.

In general, I do not think that series mech mods are recommended to be used by those of us that are not highly experienced vapers. If you are intent on getting one, I would recommend that you go to a knowledgeable vendor that can run you through absolutely all the safety aspects.

Edit: The above watt and amp calculations would be on a 0.2 ohm build; on a 0.1 ohm build it would be far more dangerous

Last edited: