REPOSTED Ohms law & watts law

Would you like to see more threads like these?

• Yawn! What time is it..?

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Morix

MecHead
ECIGSSA Donor
LV

Awards
Credit :

Most people still seem to be living in the mech mod days, where in order to calculate the current (amps) being drawn from the battery, you only need to know the resistance of the coil and the nominal voltage of the battery. This makes sense on a mech because the resistance of the coil is the ONLY thing you have control over (well that and the charge of the battery). However, if you are using a regulated mod, this does not apply. Resistance of the coil means absolutely zero on a regulated mod.

Let me give a brief explanation on why this is. (NOTE: I am not an electrical engineer, but I did stay in the honeymoon suite of a Holiday Inn Express last night).

Regulated mods typically use a DC-DC converter (probably in most cases a switched-mode converter). That is, they separate the input and output voltage (in other words, they separate the battery from the atomizer). So, just because you have 3.7v going in from your battery doesn't mean this is what will be hitting the atomizer. On a mech mod, yes, that is what happens because there is nothing in between the atomizer and the battery. On a regulated mod, there is a voltage regulator in between the battery and the atomizer.

On a mech mod, as your battery drains, you have less voltage (and thus less power) hitting the atty. This means the vapor production diminishes over time. We know from Ohm's law that Power = voltage X current. As you can see from this simple equation, as the voltage drops, this necessarily means less power (watts).