Coil sizes

Smoke187

Experienced Vaper
LV

Awards
Hi All

I am still quite new to coil building and wanted to find out, what size coils do you'll build.
I started out and have been using a 2mm pop rivet to build my coils and so far it its been quite well, but I am interested to know what ID's are you'll using.

Hi All

I am still quite new to coil building and wanted to find out, what size coils do you'll build.
I started out and have been using a 2mm pop rivet to build my coils and so far it its been quite well, but I am interested to know what ID's are you'll using.

I prefer bigger so I Don't have to drip so often. In the kayfun I go more for 1.5mm. All depends on the device and mood I'm in.

It's nice to go through the SUYWWCS threads to see how other people are doing it. Found some amazing builds there

Early in my vape journey I build 1.4mm ID coils, but for the past couple of months I prefer ugly coils with ribbon and guess they are about 1.8 to 2mm ID.

Generally speaking smaller IDs produce better flavour, bigger IDs will produce more vapour, but all this varies a lot depending on the wire gauge and wicking materials. Also, the same wick and coil configuration in a different atomiser will also give you a different result. Best is to start with something simple and start changing and experimenting from there to find what works for you. I started with a Kayfun, a 1.5mm ID with around 7 wraps of 28g Kanthal wicked with cotton is a great place to start :)

awesome stuff, keep the suggestions coming in :happy:
I'm building on a magma and been doing 6/7 wraps 28G on a 2mm ID and getting around 0.5 - 0.7 ohms with Rayon for wick

Worldwide, around 1.5 mm is probably the standard. But have seen IDs from below 1.0 mm up to 4 mm. Personally, I use 1.4 to 1.6 mm.