Charge Batteries with RC Balanced Charger

Tiaan21

Noob Vaper
LV

Awards
Hi All

Noob here, been doing a bit for research on using my RC balanced charger to possibly charge 18650 batteries.

From what I have seen it should be possible with a bit of DIY in terms of wiring up a suitable battery bay with balanced leads etc.

I want to know what your opinions are on the matter?

PS: I know batteries are a very sensitive subject and if not handled with care can cause serious harm.

Hope to her from you guys soon.

Hey bud,

Welcome to the forum. In all honesty, I will not give DIY a bash as the 18650 batteries have got their own circuitry on board and if that gets damaged you will probably end up with a small hand grenade that you hold close to your face.

Rather spend the bucks and get a descent charger. They will keep your batteries in top shape and do it safely.

Here's a couple of links:

https://www.thevapeindustry.co.za/c...cts/new-i4-intellicharger?variant=27837650689

https://www.vapeking.co.za/new-nitecore-i2-intellicharger-vape-king.html

https://www.vapeking.co.za/xtar-mc1-single-bay-usb-lithium-ion-battery-charger-vape-king.html

Hi @Tiaan21

I dont know about RC chargers but its probably best to get a dedicated 18650 charger used for vaping batteries.

Anyhow, am paging @Christos because I seem to recall he has experience with RC things. Not sure but maybe he can advise you

If you know what you're doing (and as I assume you are an RC enthusiast, you do) there's no reason not to, provided you have a proper programmable RC charger. I considered it but it's just too much hassle. Finding a suitable battery sled, wiring up the balance wires etc... Too much PT for me.

Oh, @William Vermaak , I doubt that anyone's using protected 18650's in the vaping game, so there is no circuiry in the cells we use.....

Last edited: