Double Stack Batteries

Hein510

Creator of Ohm1 Eliquid range
LV

Awards
So me and @Bartho have been discussing double stacking batteries.

Every vaper has completely banned doing this but I worked out that if you are running 2x 18350 (Giving say 8Volts) batteries in a Nemi with a 1Ohm coil, it will come out to 64watts with a amp draw of 8amps.

Running 2x 18350 Efest purple batteries I would say its still safe as they are rated to 10.5amps.

What does the electronic pros say about trying this out?

Everywhere I have read people have advised against stacking batteries, but I am not an expert in this field. That safety margin seems too slim for me. Question is, why do you want to do it?

I don't think it's a current draw issue more arcing between batteries and they should be matched pairs. Since its used close to your face I wouldn't risk it. I've heard of more cases of stacked batteries going wrong than single batts. And thats in torches.

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

Plenty have done it and they reckon it is completely safe - then there are those few that now miss chunks of their cheeks and tongue's - they used to be of the group that said it is safe - not so much anymore.

So your face, your risk :)

The problem as is stated, is that the connection between the batteries by just stacking them is not really sufficient to carry a proper current - remember these are not 1.5v AA batteries you are stacking here, but 3.7V with waaay more amps than any AA.

So arcing can happen, or the connection is just not very good and causes a heat buildup - and boom, you have an extra hole to breathe through in your face.

Remember that those battery packs they make for lap-tops etc. are 18650's soldered together with low-resistance leads - they learnt long ago not to stack.

So your risk, but I recommend taking lots of pictures of your face from various angles - so that the plastic surgeons have nice reference photos when they have to rebuild your face :p