IN PICTURES | Is vaping really helping you quit traditional tobacco cigarettes?

Thanks Sharri, both for sharing and your input in the article.

I have noticed Associate Professor van Zyl-Smit's anti-vaping comments for a while now. While not refuting the learned professor's opinions (as I'm just a layman), I do question his endorsements of medical NRT's (nicotine replacement therapies) such as Zyban and Chantix, both of which have serious side effects. He has acknowledged that he has received honoraria (payment for professional service) from Pfizer and GSK who are the manufacturers of these drugs.

So how unbiased is his research?

I have noticed Associate Professor van Zyl-Smit's anti-vaping comments for a while now. While not refuting the learned professor's opinions (as I'm just a layman), I do question his endorsements of medical NRT's (nicotine replacement therapies) such as Zyban and Chantix, both of which have serious side effects. He has acknowledged that he has received honoraria (payment for professional service) from Pfizer and GSK who are the manufacturers of these drugs.

Zyban, nic patches, nic gum, hypnosis, acupuncture, cold turkey did not work for me...vaping did. While it is still bad for my body, I feel 90 - 95% healthier.

Zyban, nic patches, nic gum, hypnosis, acupuncture, cold turkey did not work for me...vaping did. While it is still bad for my body, I feel 90 - 95% healthier.

I have tried them all also with no lasting success. I tried for the first time in 1981 to give up smoking, and tried multiple times after that with multiple methods. I only succeeded in 2017 thanks to vaping (and thanks again @Rob Fisher for planting the seed). I don't think any of us believe that vaping is 100% healthy, but I would rather risk the 5% and not repeat the health scare I had a few years ago - this time I might not be so lucky.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk