Reo base protector thoughts

Moey_Ismail

Reonaut
LV

Awards
Hi guys, so my new P67 arrives on Monday and I was playing with some ideas for a base protector, I know reos are super strong and durable but at the same time I see it as an investment and no matter how we look after a mod it's pretty impossible to avoid that rash on the base from sitting it down constantly.

I'm not good at drawing so I'll have to explain but it's pretty simple, @Rob Fisher @Spydro @Alex @Andre @hands @Petrus, I'd appreciate everyone's input and thoughts, especially you Reonuts and handy folk.

Here are my ideas and I'm sure it could be tweaked to fit any reo, not just a P67, so my plan is to get this 3D printed as 1 full piece but for the purpose of illustration without a drawing imagine it to be 2 pieces fused together,
The base would be a simple tracing of the P67's base without the door on so that there's clearance for the door to slide downwards, a full flat piece just a few mm thick,
And for the 2nd piece, a "C" that fits around the perimeter of the base piece and only extends a couple mm high. Fuse the 2 pieces together to create a cup with a missing side (for the door) of some sort.

I don't want the tolerances to be too tight as that will damage the mod everytime I remove and replace the protector and would defeat it's purpose so to keep it snug I would make a hole in the plastic protector's base that lines up with the spring screw and replace the screw with a slightly longer 1. I doubt this will interfere with the grounding.
I will post pics if I manage a decent enough drawing

Hi guys, so my new P67 arrives on Monday and I was playing with some ideas for a base protector, I know reos are super strong and durable but at the same time I see it as an investment and no matter how we look after a mod it's pretty impossible to avoid that rash on the base from sitting it down constantly.