Temp control - stainless steel

Waheebh

Vaping Enthusiast
LV

Awards
I just had some questions on ss temp control. Its my first time I've tried to build with ss.

Let's first get to what happened. I will explain the variables and questions after.

So after the build, gently pulsed it up in power mode as instructed and obvious general rule. It was a contact build. After wicking, I couldn't wait to fire it up in temp control! It never happened.

First of all I set it real low. Something like 35watts, 120°c. Locked the resistance and everything.

I fired it for a second or two and then it goes back to power mode over and over again.

Eventually I started over. Except this time, spaced wraps. Still wasn't happening! By this time I'm ready to gently destroy this mod..

So I came up with reason. My mod is a week old and I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt. This is where the variables come into play..

(Please let me know if I'm wrong here)
First of all, it was ss fused claptons made by geekvape. I first thought it was because I hadn't spaced the wraps.
After that epic fail, I figured what if the core of the claptons aren't stainless? Does this happen? Or is there an issue with the mod?

The mod is the Wismec predator 228. Built into the big tornado rta. The claptons are fused using 26g "stainless steel" and wrapped in 32g "stainless steel". All 316L.

My guess is the wire has messed me around and I should wrap my own claptons from scratch.

Any input would be valued. Thanks in advance.

I just want to stop you right at the part you said it jumps straight to power mode. I knew immediately that you were using a Joyetech or Wismec product. Low and behold it's a Predator 228 :D

So this is a known problem with the above devices. It's trying to be clever. But it isn't.

Install Arctic Fox and you won't have the problem again. Been using TC without issues since I flashed the Predator.

www.nfeteam.org

Enjoy!

Last edited: