Xcube 2 - Damaged - No Power

snowman123

New Vaper
LV

Awards
With all of the bells and whistles on the Smok Xcube 2, it certainly stood out as a mod that I needed to have in my collection. Bought the device in November 2015, used it moderately at around 40 watts maximum and during December this is were everything went wrong.

I had the device in its off state resting on a table with brand new Tesiyi 40AH batteries inside. Being a tech, I could smell some burning silicone. Initially, I thought my air conditioner at home was about to fry, but as I got closer to the mod, I could see smoke and the burning smell got stronger. I immediately tried to remove the batteries which at this stage seemed to be extremely hot, so hot that I had to grab a cloth to remove them then leave them outside. These batteries held up really well, I was honestly expecting them to explode at this point!

The mod in all its glory was completely damaged. No power, no display, completely dead.

After complaining about the problem to Smok, I was asked to provide a detailed write up of the problem and to supply them with videos and pictures for a replacement. Besides me, other international users have been having this issue.

Have a look a the images attached. Failure area are the mosfets (small black components highlighted in red rectangle). Having the experience and tools to do the repair isn't enough to repair this pcb. The foil tracks are so thin that they cannot survive component replacement and break off easily. The cause of this problem I would limit to a combination of poor quality components, poor quality lead free solder and possibly eliquid residue that seeps in through the 510 mod connector.

Waiting for a replacement mod from Smok. For those of you that have this mod, please use with caution and be vigilant for any signs of overheating/smoke issues etc.

Attachments

• IMG_20160104_192235.jpg
    IMG_20160104_192235.jpg
    318.6 KB · Views: 62