Diy:torch Your Stainless Steel Atomizer Cap Bronze Or Blue Color

devdev

respice adspice prospice
ECIGSSA Donor
VIP
LV

Awards

It's apparently not safe - check this comment:

As a welder I must advise that you DO NOT DO THIS, heating SS up to the temp that it changes color results in the release of Hexaventalte Chromium...BAD SHIT?

Anyone got more info on whether this is true? The cap looks awesome when finished

Well I did some digging and came up with this interesting thread on Reddit

http://www.reddit.com/r/electronic_...zpi5/whats_safe_or_not_about_stainless_steel/

Quote -

"Here's some fun facts.
"agitation of tissue" can cause cancer.

No one knows what 'causes' cancer. We know what 'can' cause cancer but those things can also 'not' cause cancer...

Cancer is when a cell is damaged but doesn't go through cell death fast enough to stop mitosis. This means a damaged cell replicates and generally creates more damaged cells. Hence why part of the 'cure' is frying the cells that are damaged so they stop and why the worst types of cancer involve cells that migrate to other parts of the body and become new cells because they're just good enough to make it there and reform into new fucked up cancers. It's sorta like idiots breeding, they're not too dumb to **** and just die off so they wander about the globe propagating and doing stupid shit.

Torch oxidizing stainless mesh 'could' potentially create hexavalent chromium but it would be well under the AL and PEL for osha standards unless you were doing it in bulk. vaping is not going to create anywhere near a 'dangerous' level or even close to the AL (Acceptable level) according to OSHA standards.

None of the actual hardware we use is going to get hot enough to create it or be agitated in a way that can create it (grinding stainless can also make Cr VI)

Ultimately, this is very low on the risk factor scale :)"

Ok so the real risk botching up your stainless gear by heating incorrectly.