Mod meltdown

Bush Vaper

Experienced Vaper
LV

Awards
Sooo this just happened.

Im no expert at this, so I need advice from all you guys on this.

I took my Big Baby of my Minikin and put it on my Osub 80 to burn the coil and then build a deck.

I lit the coil at 60 watts and the next moment the Osub warmed up and smoke came pouring out between the tank and the mod.
I started running outside as I felt the mod warm up and dropped it on the grass.

Smoke continued to slowly come out the usb port and the display flickered on and off.
I left it for a while as I was expecting something to go boom. After about 10 minutes I went back and the mod had cooled down. I carefully unscrewed the tank and the whole pin stayed behind in the mod.

I unscrewed it with my leatherman and the pin inside the mod seems non existent.

I have attached some pics.

Please advise if I have done something wrong or if its just a short that fried the whole mod.

Quite pissed as its basically 2k down the drain.

Thanks guys

Attachments

• IMG_20161130_153717.jpg
    IMG_20161130_153717.jpg
    131.8 KB · Views: 179
  • IMG_20161130_153655.jpg
    IMG_20161130_153655.jpg
    102.9 KB · Views: 175
  • IMG_20161130_153638.jpg
    IMG_20161130_153638.jpg
    119.8 KB · Views: 175
Awhh man! that a crap one, sorry for your loss, im sure the techies will chime in with posible causes, user eror seems unlikely, any chance that a wire clipping found its way inside the 510?

Looks like that mamba came just in time

That sucks man! Ive never had anything like this happen but to me it looks like the insulator around the pin may have failed. Not sure what else could have caused that.

Ouch, this looks like a dead short. What puzzles me is that the mod's protection circuit should have cut it off immediately o_O