TCR settings for SS wire SMOK

CloudKnight

Noob Vaper
LV

Awards
Hi everyone.. for those who are struggling with tcr settings for ss wire especially for smok mods in temp mode.. I struggled and tried and failed and tried again and some advise or solution.. remember it is my personal experiance as I am no expert.. just to help any other vaper out their who has the same experiance because you cannot get proper advise online especially for ss wire tcr values regarding smok skyhook.. when all you get is temp control after 2 seconds.. well here it goes..

Acording to ohms law or steam engine and alot of other threads and reviews etc, the tcr value for ss wire 316l should be 0.00088/92/94.. anyone of the 3. Well my skyhook kept saying temp control after 2 seconds of firing the mod.. I am using dual ss 26ga 0.316 ohm 8 wrap spaced coils at 250° degrees at 50w. I tried dropping, rising wattage and temp but still same thing. Eventually I picked the tcr value of the wire to 0.00125 and it works perfectly. ( not sure how safe it is but it should be an issue right?) From what I undertand, anuthing for ss wire is between 0.00080 and 0.00200.. so it is well below the.000200 max mark. Anyone has similar issues or any response to this? Thanks guys..

I think it would be best for @Silver to move this post to the Ask Vape Veteran sub-forum. Other than that, as I understand it, when you raise the TCR you are pretty much just raising the temperature the mod will fire at. I have been told by Geekvape (through email), that you can change the TCR slightly to get the coil(s) firing properly, but 0.00125 is waaay to high for 316L SS. I usually set my G-priv to 0.00092, if that causes problems, I will first check my wicking/airflow/initial resistance (also changes temp) and then I will maybe set the TCR to 0.00095 and increase the temp. I normally vape at 260C, so the coils fire either way :-D . The Skyhook is similar to the Smok Alien, which I also have, and I set them up the same.