When to replace pre-built coils

franshorn

Experienced Vaper
LV

Awards
So I'm still new to whole rebuilding thing.

How do I know when to replace the coil?
What I do now is just dry burn the coil clean before rewicking and I do a strip down of the tank when I see it starts looking dirty and use a tooth brush to clean everything.

Read somewhere one should change the coil when the resistance starts to change. Is this the sign?
Or is it once the coil starts showing hot spots that don't go away with some repositioning/ strumming?

what coils are you using ? Sometimes they can last as long as 6 months or even longer with good care and maintenance.

What he said. I've had the standard coil that came with my Pirate King RDA. It's been a month now, with daily burning, cleaning with an old toothbrush and dish liquid.

Because of daily cleaning, I may have replace it very soon. Losing flavour here but still cloudy with a chance of meatballs. Lol.

DSC_0428.JPG DSC_0427.JPG

Coil company aliens...
When you are no longer getting a good vape out of them, that's when you change them (I know, super specific hey)

You don't want hot spots, so like you said, if you can't get rid of them, ditch them. But do make sure they are persistent, that seemingly immovable hot spot might just need a jig jiggling to sort out, so make sure you gently try as many things as possible.

Coil Company coils should last you a long time though, but sadly, nothing lasts forever.

So I'm still new to whole rebuilding thing.

How do I know when to replace the coil?
What I do now is just dry burn the coil clean before rewicking and I do a strip down of the tank when I see it starts looking dirty and use a tooth brush to clean everything.

Read somewhere one should change the coil when the resistance starts to change. Is this the sign?
Or is it once the coil starts showing hot spots that don't go away with some repositioning/ strumming?