Why Do You Choose Sub Ohm?

3FVape

Vaping Royalty
LV

Awards
Recently I am studying sub-ohm. And find more and more people choose sub ohm with mech mod instead of regulated mod?

I understand sub-ohm makes mech mods achieve watts like many regulated devices. Is there a difference between a 0.4 Ohm coil on a mech mod vs a 1.5 ohm on a device set to 40 watts?

Thanks

1.5 ohms @ 40 Watts will be one helluva dry hit :rofl: the coil will get extremely hot extremely quickly!

I personally don't see much difference between 0.5 ohms at 40 watts compared to 1.5ohms at 40 watts comparing 26ga to 30ga for example. But it's mostly coil and wick dependant. Duals vs singles, Claptons, vertical coils etc.

There will be a big difference. The coil with a resistance of 1.5 ohms will ramp up much quicker and get hot quick quick resulting in a nasty dry hit. This is based on a standard coil

I disagree. What are you using as your variable? Wire gauge? Wrap count? That's why I say it's more dependant on your coil type. 1 wrap of 30ga will burn way faster than 8 wraps at the same wattage. If you're dry hitting, you're just doing it wrong. What matters is surface area, thermal capacity and wattage.

Recently I am studying sub-ohm. And find more and more people choose sub ohm with mech mod instead of regulated mod?

I understand sub-ohm makes mech mods achieve watts like many regulated devices. Is there a difference between a 0.4 Ohm coil on a mech mod vs a 1.5 ohm on a device set to 40 watts?

Thanks
I think most people used to use mechs to run sub ohms because there wasn't many regulated mods that could run subohm at the time.

Things has changed drastically since then.

If I fire my mod at 40w with a 1.5ohm coil it pushes out 7.75v. That is guaranteed to give a massive dry hit. I found out the hard way

I've run a Lemo2 with a 1.4 ohm coil at 35W without getting dry hits. Just depends if you've build the right coil and wicked it right.