Help! First TC Build

Franky

Vapealot
LV

Awards
Hey fellow vapers, after having built on kanthal I'm now trying to build my first TC coil on a Subtank Mini.

I have the following:

• UD 26g SSL 316
  • Smok XCube 2
I'm confused as it's totally different as to building with Kanthal - no pulsing the coils til it glows red hot etc etc.

Can anyone give me advice?

I might have been wrong, I built my first SS coil last night and I did pulse it, but only for a fraction of a second. There was a smoke that came off it and then I wicked it....

A spaced coil is your friend with TC. No hot spots and always heats evenly. SS can be pulsed and even used in power mode so you are quite safe. 8 wraps on 2.5 spaced should give you a good coil for Subtank mini.

I got told yesterday to NOT do a spaced coil - I did my build on the coilmaster and ran it at 200 deg F at first - cut out after not even a sec. 350 deg just to test and boom - cotton on fire. The build was 0.43 ohm.
My XCube 2 is at it's latest firmware too with all TC modes supported and installed... ;(

I got told yesterday to NOT do a spaced coil - I did my build on the coilmaster and ran it at 200 deg F at first - cut out after not even a sec. 350 deg just to test and boom - cotton on fire. The build was 0.43 ohm.
My XCube 2 is at it's latest firmware too with all TC modes supported and installed... ;(
For TC you have to do spaced coil as most TC wires can not be pulsed to get rid of hot spots. Check your wattage or joules, it might be to high for the temperature setting you are vaping at.

For TC you have to do spaced coil as most TC wires can not be pulsed to get rid of hot spots. Check your wattage or joules, it might be to high for the temperature setting you are vaping at.
I had in on 19 watts... Upon closer inspection the cotton appears to be just fine - guessing the steel caught alight somehow?

The TCR on the XCube 2 for stainless steel is 0.00106 - is that correct?

I have the TCR for SS316 as 0.000915