Introduction & information about my research (survey)

dan_todd

New Vaper
LV

Awards
[spoken to Rob Fisher and was given permission to post]

Hi everyone,

My name is Daniel, and I'm currently undertaking psychology honours with Central Queensland University (CQU) in Australia (I completed a Bachelor of Arts and Social Sciences with an accredited major in psychology at Monash University in 2012). My supervisor Matt has a PhD in psychology, and the project has received ethics approval from CQU. This research is unfunded and has no commercial affiliations whatsoever. Admittedly, I don't vape myself, but became extremely interested in vaping from reading and hearing about people vaping in an effort to stop smoking, and thinking about family and friends that have struggled to quit in the past. I want to understand the patterns of vaping, including the degree to which vaping can effectively substitute for a cigarette-based nicotine habit, the number of vapers trying to wean themselves off nicotine versus those happy with a safer medium to maintain a nicotine habit, and the survey asks questions about this. As part of this, I have been working on developing a questionnaire that could eventually allow users (and researchers) to assess vapers’ nicotine dependence. The questionnaire includes what is essentially a modified Fagerstrom Test for Nictotine Dependence (which many of you will no doubt have heard of), but with questions more relevant to vaping. Not surprisingly (because I haven't posted on here :)), I haven't yet had any SA participants, and would really love to see some.