Strange Kanthal corrosion

Smokyg

All day Vaper
VIP
LV

Awards
I have been noticing my kanthal doing this weird blue corrosion even when just firing it before it has seen any juice, and after a weeks vaping and then a dry burn the blue comes back and those blue pieces falls off causing the coil wires to thin out and creating serious hotspots.

Im getting quite concerned. Might the Kanthal be of lower grade?

Below is a pic of a coil i just rolled and fired. It hasn't seen any juice yet.

2014-09-22 15.12.39.jpg

I've seen that before...
Looks like death.
Read any Discworld novels?

Sure that's Kanthal? Or Kanthrax?

Have never seen anything like that before. Cannot be healthy. Where did you get the wire from?

Won it at the jhb vape meet.

Perhaps im firing it to hot so it starts to oxidise?
Im not really a expert in metals and how they react to heat, but i cant really find anything on the web about kanthal oxidising or corroding.. This is super weird.

I would stop vaping on that. Kanthal from my limited understanding should really not deteriorate rapidly at all used in our applications. An idea of how tough the stuff should be.... It has a melting point of 1200 degrees centigrade! I have wrapped quite a few coils and ran a few for well over a month. I chucked them but they still looked like they did when I wrapped them, only thing that changed was they seemed to lose heat capacity.

I would stop vaping on that. Kanthal from my limited understanding should really not deteriorate rapidly at all used in our applications. An idea of how tough the stuff should be.... It has a melting point of 1200 degrees centigrade! I have wrapped quite a few coils and ran a few for well over a month. I chucked them but they still looked like they did when I wrapped them, only thing that changed was they seemed to lose heat capacity.