DIY vs Premade eliquid

Ravynheart

The Curious Raven
LV

Awards
Time to open a second can of worms.
As a newbie, I've discovered that some people mix their own eliquid blends along with the prospect of it being cheaper than buying a Premade eliquid. So, here I have a couple questions as I have very little understanding on the topic.
1. How risky and complicated is DIY?
2. Is it really worth the risks vs the convenience going to a store and buying a bottle of liquid?
3. Is it really cheaper considering you might have to throw away a couple screwed up batches?
4. How's the best way to get started in DIY without breaking the Vape budget?

All opinions and answers welcome!

3. Is it cheaper? I've spent somewhere in the region of R4k to R6k on diy... So I'm not entirely sure. If you're working with "simple" juices and are satisfied with relatively basic things, it's definitely cheaper. But everything has a shelf life, especially nicotine in higher concentrations.

When you're vaping 15-20ml a day, yes, it's much cheaper! I have chucked maybe 200ml of 'oopsies' in 2 months. Mixed without nic, so not that expensive at all. I hwve also made over a liter of very vapeable juice, and even sold some to colleagues who have tasted some 5ml samples of my stuff. I charge them R50/30ml. Makes up fir my flavoring collection and the PG/VG cost is negligable. Some good recipes by members on planet of the vapes, kritikalmass and e-liquid-recipes.