The gestation of a box mod :P

n0ugh7_zw

Data in the streets, Riker in the sheets!
ECIGSSA Donor
LV

Awards
Ok, so I've been fooling around with making micarta (Kinda related to fibre glass and carbon fibre), cutting it in my laser engraver, and then working on it with hand tools.

I'm really far from an expert, only been messing with it for a week.

But! I want to make a box mod :) I think I do a dual parallel box to start. But I really want a quad parallel box, kinda like the Hammer of God mod, but prettier :p

Here's a picture of a dual 18650 stand I made this week, it's very rough around the edges but it's taught me a lot about how to work with the micarta.

I've gotten myself some better clamps, and 2 old but polished slabs of granite to clamp the micarta down, so there should be minimal variations in thickness. I'm also hoping to pick up some better quality resin this morning, so that it saturates more of the fabric fibres. It should help with getting a nice shiny polished finish.

My goal for today is to cast 2-3 panels, and polish them. so that they can get cut on Monday.

Then... Hopefully I can do all my assembly work on Tuesday-Thursday and possibly finish the mod off on Saturday when I grab a DIY box kit at the meet.

Last edited:
:p casting the panels will be more like a weekend goal :) it's going a little slower than I'd like.

I did find some awesome colour changing fabric, goes from a purple to a dark brown to a green.

Keen to see how that works out in the final sheets. First ones clamped down, should be able to post pics in 5-7hrs once its cured.

P.S. ProTip No. 1 don't get polyester resin on your skin... its a right b*** to get off.

Last edited:
:p casting the panels will be more like a weekend goal :) it's going a little slower than I'd like.

I did find some awesome colour changing fabric, goes from a purple to a dark brown to a green.