Power, ohms & watts?

BuzzGlo

Dedicated Vaper
LV

Awards
Okay so i get ohms law and stuff.

what I dont understand is why soo many cheaper/ entry level devices are like 2 ohms plus on the coil but the battery is a 3.7 V

surely those devices should be burning a 1.5 ohm coil to get a lekkah vape at around 9 watts?

Personally I enjoy 14 watts which i've heard is decent for coil life ( aspire BVC ) but i'm a noob so dont quote me on that.

The main reason i'm trying to work this out is cos i've got 2 x 3.4V cigalike batteries which i'm looking to revive for nic smoking in the office and running my nautilus for non-nic enjoyment.

I have yet to find a 45 mm clearomiser with a 510 connector with a 1.5 ohm coil that I can run.

Vape africa has a "vape smart atomizer bottom coil" but they are in CT and there coils are R40 a pop. If i knew of a substitute coil i'd order that... also no idea what ohm those coils are.

Vapeshop in melrose arch has the ikit mini ikiss which is R150 thats a 2.2 ohm device that runs on a 3.3 v battery. So IDK again my understanding of ohms, volt turns into wtfs. (If i could find this cheaper that would be cool as well. )

So yeah any info on what i'm missing (and or where to get things at a better price) would be appreciated.

Lastly why is unsafe to fire sub ohm on say a 3.4 - 3.7 volt battery?

Higher resistance coils require less power (watts) to heat up and hence extend battery life...and also the batteries which are generally used with these type of atomizers only have limited power available - so even though it can fire 3-4V it can only go up to 8-10W. The only way this works to give a satisfying vape is to use higher resistance coils.

For example...Using 3.7V on a 1.8 Ohm coil requires 7.6W of power (check the Ohm's law calculator - and bookmark this site) :D
As you lower resistance (to say 1.5 Ohm) you need more power (12.4W to be exact). This increased power will drain the battery faster.